Cover image for What was mine
What was mine
Beattie, Ann.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Random House, 1991.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
FICTION Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
FICTION Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



A collection of short fiction, twelve works in all, including two never-before-published novellas. Here are disconnected marriages and uneasy reunions, nostalgic reminiscences and sudden epiphanies--a remarkable and moving collage of contemporary lives. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Author Notes

Ann Beattie was born in Washington, D.C. on September 8, 1947. She received a B.A. from American University in 1969 and an M.A. from the University of Connecticut in 1970. She began her writing career when she was just twenty-five, with the short story A Platonic Relationship, published in The New Yorker. Regular contributions to the magazine resulted in her first collection of short stories, Distortions, published in 1976. Her first novel, Chilly Scenes of Winter, was also published that year. Later works include Park City, Another You, Where You'll Find Me, and Walks with Men. Her work was honored with a Guggenheim fellowship in 1978, an Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1980, and the Rea Award for the Short Story in 2005. She has taught at Harvard College, the University of Connecticut, and the University of Virginia.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

In these 12 stories, whose protagonists represent a wide range of voices, ages and social classes, Beattie effectively conveys their epiphanies, though at times she carries subtlety to extremes. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Library Journal Review

Most of these 12 stories are quick studies of the lives of middle-class Americans caught in the kind of self-examination that exposes the frailties and limitations of their perceptions. In the title story, a boy gains a new and disturbing sense of his dead father's identity through the contemplation of loss. ``Installation #6'' is about the difference between objective and subjective reality. In it an artist has his handyman brother tape record ``some thoughts you can listen to'' to be played in the gallery where his construction is on display. The monolog thus becomes both a part of and a commentary on the artist's work. Next, against a sensuous Mediterranean backdrop, a woman vacationing with her husband faces the shortcomings of their relationship in ``In Amalfi.'' This well-crafted and readable collection should appeal to fans of Beattie's other work.-- Francis Poole, Univ. of Dela ware, Newark (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.