Cover image for The sky's the limit : a defense of the earth
Title:
The sky's the limit : a defense of the earth
Author:
Nichols, John, 1745-1826.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Norton, 1990.
Physical Description:
[unpaged] ; 25 cm
Language:
English
Personal Subject:
Subject Term:
ISBN:
9780393028652
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library TR660.5 .N495 1990 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Thoreau, Edward Abbey, and Annie Dillard, The Sky's the Limit is an environmental manifesto, with 68 lyrical photographs of an untouched mesa near the author's home in Taos, New Mexico. A provocative essary on the fate of our planet complements these full-color images.


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

Nichols, better known as a novelist and author of such books as The Sterile Cuckoo and The Milagro Beanfield War, here has written a spirited polemic advocating a renewed sense of caring for the planet. Each two-page spread consists of two or three paragraphs facing one of the 68 full-color photographs taken by the author. Nichols is an eloquent spokesperson for the wilderness; a resident of Taos, New Mexico, he is outraged by the ecological destruction he has witnessed around his home. But Nichols does not limit himself to commenting only about environmental matters. His text ranges widely, taking in economics and spirituality: he believes that everything and everyone is inextricably intertwined. A fascinating book, one that deserves a wide readership.-- Randy Dykhuis, OCLC, Dublin, Ohio (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview