Cover image for Order in the universe : the films of John Carpenter
Order in the universe : the films of John Carpenter
Cumbow, Robert C., 1946-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1990.
Physical Description:
vi, 241 pages ; 22 cm.
General Note:
Includes index.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PN1998.3.C38 C8 1990 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



An obscure independent filmmaker until Halloween (1978), John Carpenter has been applauded for his classic sense of compositions, yet reviled for his _B-film_ sensibility. With a chronology of Carpenter's career, a detailed filmography, photos, brief plot synopses, and a thorough index, this volume will be treasured by film scholars and fans alike.

Author Notes

Robert C. Cumbow is also the author of "Once Upon a Time: The Films of Sergio Leone" (Scarecrow, 1987), and of a collection of puns, "Pardon Me, Roy & Other Groaners".

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

Acknowledgmentsp. xiii
1. Stirrings: Introductionp. 1
2. Sunrise: The Resurrection of Broncho Billyp. 7
3. Let There Be Light: Dark Starp. 11
4. There Are No Heroes Any More: Assault on Precinct 13p. 19
Intermission: Zuma Beach and Eyes of Laura Marsp. 43
5. It Was the Bogey Man: Halloweenp. 47
Intermission: Halloween--The Sequelsp. 65
6. He's Controlling All of Us: Someone's Watching Me!p. 75
7. There's a Reason for Everything: Elvisp. 83
8. We're All Cursed: The Fogp. 91
9. I Heard You Were Dead: Escape from New Yorkp. 101
10. Trust Is a Tough Thing to Come By: The Thingp. 111
11. Rock 'n' Roll Is Here to Stay: Christinep. 121
12. I Can't Get No Satisfaction: Starmanp. 131
Intermission: The Philadelphia Experiment and Black Moon Risingp. 139
13. It's All in the Reflexes: Big Trouble in Little Chinap. 141
14. Not What We Had in Mind: Prince of Darknessp. 147
15. Maybe They've Been with Us All Along: They Livep. 165
16. I Can't Believe I Survived That Notes from a Talk with John Carpenterp. 179
17. High Noon: El Diablop. 187
18. You're Not Alone Anymore: Memoirs of an Invisible Manp. 189
19. These Guys Crack Me Up: Body Bagsp. 197
20. We've Only Just Begun: In the Mouth of Madnessp. 201
21. There Are Going to Be Changes: Village of the Damnedp. 213
22. Sooner or Later They Get Everybody: Escape from L.A.p. 221
23. Sunset: Vampiresp. 227
Chronologyp. 241
Filmographyp. 243
Indexp. 285
About the Authorp. 295