Cover image for Collected novellas
Collected novellas
García Márquez, Gabriel, 1927-2014.
Uniform Title:
Novellas. English
Publication Information:
New York, N.Y. : Harper & Row, 1990.
Leaf storm -- No one writes to the colonel -- Chronicle of a death foretold.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
FICTION Adult Fiction Central Library
FICTION Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Renowned as a master of magical realism, Gabriel Garcia Marquez has long delighted readers around the world with his exquisitely crafted prose. Brimming with unforgettable characters and set in exotic locales, his fiction transports readers to a world that is at once fanciful, haunting, and real. Leaf Storm, Gabriel Garcia Marquez's first novella, introduces the mythical village of Macondo, a desolate town beset by torrents of rain, where a man must fulfill a promise made years earlier. No One Writes to the Colonel is a novella of life in a decaying tropical town in Colombia with an unforgettable central character. Chronicle of a Death Foretold is a dark and profound story of three people joined together in a fatal act of violence.

Author Notes

Gabriel García Márquez was born in Aracataca, Colombia on March 6, 1927. After studying law and journalism at the National University of Colombia in Bogota, he became a journalist. In 1965, he left journalism, to devote himself to writing. His works included Leaf Storm, No One Writes to the Colonel, The Evil Hour, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Love in the Time of Cholera, The Autumn of the Patriarch, Chronicle of a Death Foretold, The General in His Labyrinth, Clandestine in Chile, and the memoir Living to Tell the Tale. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982. He died on April 17, 2014 at the age of 87.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

These three novellas, published originally at various points in the distinguished Colombian writer's career, serve as excellent supplementary reading for those who have been intoxicated by Garcia Marquez's novels, which include of course the wondrous and fabulously popular One Hundred Years of Solitude (1970) and the most recent, The General in His Labyrinth [BKL Jl 90], a fictionalized portrait of General Simon Bolivar. All three novellas gathered here, Leaf Storm (originally published in 1955), No One Writes to the Colonel (1961), and Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1983), are prime examples of this Nobel laureate's characteristic setting aside of traditional narrative forms and his adroitness in handling fantasy and hyperbole. --Brad Hooper

Library Journal Review

All three of these psychologically provocative novellas by 1982 Nobel Laureate Garcia Marquez involve the turmoil of violent death in small, lethargic Colombian villages. ``Leaf Storm,'' like Antigone, poses a conflict over burial. The colonel is set on honoring the local doctor with a burial despite the wishes of the townspeople, who hate him because he refused to treat the wounded after an outburst of political violence. In ``No One Writes to the Colonel,'' another colonel waits as if for Godot for a pension check from the government that never comes. Is his faith in the future all that matters--or is it irresponsible? ``Chronicle of a Death Foretold'' concerns the murder of a man for allegedly making love to a woman who on her wedding night to another is unable to prove her virginity. The tension stems from why no one, including the local priest, tries to stop the murder when everyone knows just how it will happen. Highly recommended.-- Jack Shreve, Allegany Community Coll., Cumberland, Md. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.