Cover image for Anything for the quiet life
Anything for the quiet life
Gilbert, Michael Francis, 1912-2006.
First Carroll and Graf edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Carroll & Graf, 1990.
Anything for a quiet life -- Black Bob -- Vivat Regina -- The reign of terror -- The admiral -- We've come to report a murder, sir -- Holy writ -- The bird of dawning -- The freedom folk.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
FICTION Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order


Author Notes

Writer Michael Gilbert was born in Lincolnshire, United Kingdom on July 17, 1912. He received an LLB with honors from the University of London in 1937. During World War II, he served in the Royal Horse Artillery in North Africa and Europe. His experience as a prisoner-of-war in North Africa was later used in his novel Death in Captivity. After the war, he became a lawyer and began to write. He was a founding member of the British Crime Writers Association and was named a Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of American in 1988. He won the Life Achievement Anthony Award at the 1990 Boucheron in London and was knighted as a Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 1980.

Michael Gilbert died on February 8, 2006. (Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Gilbert, an accomplished mystery and espionage novelist, continues to amaze and entertain with nine short stories featuring Jonas Pickett, a solicitor who has recently moved into semiretirement in the small town of Shackleton-on-Sea. Pickett's law firm also includes his clever partner Sabrina, their outspoken secretary Claire, and Sam (a bouncer/bodyguard). Encounters with the IRA, French collaborators from World War II, gypsies, carnival barkers, headmasters, schoolboys, and all sorts of village folk fill their days with far more cases than Pickett ever desired. Gilbert writes scintillating mystery plots and draws wonderfully quaint surroundings. Among his recent fiction is Trouble [BKL Je 15 87]. --Denise Perry Donavin

Publisher's Weekly Review

These whimsical short stories, first seen in the Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine , center around London solicitor Jonas Pickett, who sets up a modest practice in the small resort town of Shackleton-on-Sea so as not to rusticate in retirement. The sleepy village, not at all what he expects, abounds in crime--some of it lighthearted, some serious--and Jonas is soon in the middle of it. With shrewdness and humor, he deals with the eccentrics, such as Farmer Maggs with his prize bull in ``Black Bob'' and the fortune-telling Gypsy Queen and her band whose caravans, parked legally on council land, spoil the view from the manor house in ``Vivat Regina.'' In ``The Admiral,'' an old naval officer gets involved with a circus and a devilish set of twins, while the reclusive Dr. Rainey dies mysteriously in his locked house in ``The Bird of Dawning.'' Though the characters may be two-dimensional and the stories of uneven quality, this collection, overall, delights by virtue of Gilbert's fanciful plotting. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved