Cover image for Talk to me : how to ask better questions, get better answers, and interview anyone like a pro
Title:
Talk to me : how to ask better questions, get better answers, and interview anyone like a pro
Author:
Nelson, Dean, 1954- author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : HarperPerennial, [2019]
Physical Description:
380 pages ; 21 cm
Summary:
"From respected Journalist, professor, and founder of Writer's Symposium by the Sea, a book that demystifies the art and science of interviewing, in the vein of On Writing Well or How to Read Literature Like a Professor for the J-School crowd"--

Interviewing is the single most important way journalists (and others) get information. Yet to many, the perfect interview feels more like luck than skill- a rare confluence of rapport, topic, and timing. But the thing is, great interviews aren't the result of serendipity and intuition, but rather the result of careful planning and good journalistic habits. Drawn on forty years of award-winning journalism, Dean Nelson walks readers through each step of the journey, from deciding whom to interview and structuring questions to the nitty gritty of using a recording device and effective note-taking strategies, to the ethical dilemmas of interviewing people you love (and Loathe). He also includes case studies of famous interviews to show readers how these principles play out in real time.. --taken from back cover
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062825209
Format :
Book