Cover image for The classical music lover's companion to orchestral music
The classical music lover's companion to orchestral music
The classical music lover's companion to orchestral music
Philip, Robert, 1945- author.
Publication Information:
New Haven : Yale University Press, [2018]

Physical Description:
xviii, 949 pages ; 27 cm
Robert Philip, scholar, broadcaster, and musician, has compiled an essential handbook for lovers of classical music, designed to enhance their listening experience to the full. Covering four hundred works by sixty-eight composers from Corelli to Shostakovich, from 1700 to 1950, this engaging companion explores and unpacks the most frequently performed works, including symphonies, concertos, overtures, suites, and ballet scores. It offers intriguing details about each piece while avoiding technical terminology that might frustrate the non-specialist reader. Philip identifies key features in each work, as well as subtleties and surprises that await the attentive listener, and he includes enough background and biographical information to illuminate the composer's intentions. Organized alphabetically from Bach to Webern, this compendium will be indispensable for classical music enthusiasts, whether in the concert hall or enjoying recordings at home.
Johann Sebastian Bach -- Mily Balakirev -- Samuel Barber -- Béla Bartók -- Ludwig van Beethoven -- Hector Berlioz -- Georges Bizet -- Alexander Borodin -- Bohuslav Martinú -- Felix Mendelssohn -- Olivier Messiaen -- Darius Milhaud -- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart -- Modest Musorgsky -- Carl Nielsen -- Sergei Prokofiev -- Johannes Brahms -- Benjamin Britten -- Max Bruch -- Anton Bruckner -- Emmanuel Charbrier -- Frédéric Fryderyk Chopin -- Aaron Copland -- Arcangelo Corelli -- Claude Debussy -- Frederick Delius -- Antonin Dvor̆ák -- Edward Elgar -- Manuel de Falla -- Gabriel Fauré -- César Franck -- George Gershwin -- Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka -- Edvard Grieg -- George Frideric Handel / Georg Friedrich HăndelL -- Franz Joseph Haydn -- Paul Hindemith -- Gustav Holst -- Charles Ives -- Leos̆ Janác̆ek -- Franz Liszt -- Gustav Mahler -- Sergei Rachmaninoff -- Maurice Ravel -- Nikolai Rimskykorsakov -- Gioachino Rossini -- Camille Saintsaëns -- Erik Satie -- Arnold Schoenberg -- Franz Schubert -- Robert Schumann -- Alexander Scriabin / Aleksandr Nikolayevich Skryabin -- Dmitri Shostakovich -- Jean Sibelius -- Bedr̆ich Smetana -- Rirchard Strauss -- Igor Stravinsky -- Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky -- Michael Tippett -- Ralph Vaughan Williams -- Antonio Vivaldi -- Richard Wagner -- William Walton -- Carl Maria von Weber -- Anton Webern.
Format :