Cover image for The Storm Keeper's Island
Title:
The Storm Keeper's Island
Author:
Doyle, Catherine, 1990- author.
Publication Information:
New York : Bloomsbury Children's Books, 2019.
Physical Description:
308 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
Fionn Boyle, terrified of the sea, must spend the summer with this older sister, Tara, and their grandfather on Arranmore, an island that has been known to make people disappear, and seems to be restless again.
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9781547600113

9781408896884

9781681199597
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Magical in every way." - Eoin Colfer, author of Artemis Fowl "Fans of Harry Potter or Percy Jackson can add Fionn Boyle as a generous and brave hero from the Emerald Isle." - School Library Connection Fionn Boyle comes from a long line of brave seafarers, people with the ocean behind their eyes. But he can't help but fear the open sea. For years, Fionn's mother has told him stories of Arranmore Island, a strange place that seems to haunt her. Fionn has always wondered about this mysterious island, and from the day he arrives he starts noticing things that can't be explained. He can sense the island all around him, and it feels like the island is watching him, too.Once in a generation, Arranmore Island chooses a new Storm Keeper to wield its power and keep its magic safe from enemies. The time has come for his grandfather, a secretive and eccentric old man, to step down. But as Fionn and the other descendants of Arranmore's most powerful families fight to become the island's next champion, a more sinister magic is waking up, intent on rekindling a long-ago war and changing Fionn's life and the island's future forever.


Author Notes

Catherine Doyle grew up beside the Atlantic Ocean in the west of Ireland. Her love of reading began with great Irish myths and legends, and fostered in her an ambition to one day write her own. The Storm Keeper's Island is her debut middle-grade novel and was inspired by her real-life ancestral home of Arranmore Island (where her grandparents grew up), and the adventures of her many sea-faring ancestors. After living in Dublin City for two years, Catherine is now based in Galway but spends a lot of her time in the US and London. www.catherinedoylebooks.com/@doyle_cat


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Eleven-year-old Fionn Boyle knows that places can be just as important as people . . . they can have the same power over you if you let them. Fionn and his sister are spending the summer with their grandfather, Malachy Boyle, on Arranmore Island, off the coast of Ireland. Nestled among the unpredictable wildflowers is Fionn's ancestral home, a rickety cottage stuffed with eclectic candles. As Fionn quickly learns, Arranmore holds secrets. Every generation, a Storm Keeper is chosen and imbued with the magic of the sea. They wield power over the elements and record moments in time in the form of candles. Malachy's time as Arranmore's Storm Keeper is ending, and another family on the island is vying for the position. The possibility of reigniting a centuries-long war between forces of good and evil is also at stake for those who would be the next Storm Keeper. Doyle's prose explodes with lyrical language as she deftly explores themes of loss, guilt, and how memory weighs on one's soul. Malachy's struggles with dementia feel entirely relatable to those with family members also struggling with the condition, and are inextricably woven into the fantasy narrative. Doyle proves with this exquisite debut that she is a middle-grade fiction author to watch, and readers can look forward to the continuing adventures of the Storm Keeper.--Caitlin Kling Copyright 2018 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-7-The moment 11-year-old Fionn Boyle and his sister Tara set foot on Arranmore Island, he senses something unusual: every part of this island off the coast of Dublin calls to him as if it has been waiting for him to return. Fionn soon discovers there's a dark force buried deep on Arranmore that has also been lying in wait. It may be his destiny to confront this evil as the next Storm Keeper, the Island's magical protector. Though Fionn is riddled with self-doubt, his character is a fresh, contemporary take on the "underdog finding his special purpose" trope. His snarky sparring with Tara and her snobby crush on Bartley reveals wit and strength Fionn doesn't recognize in himself and his courage convincingly grows over the course of the novel. Guiding him toward his future is the siblings' adventurous grandfather Malachy, Arranmore's current Storm Keeper. His wisdom and patient advice underscore the novel's themes of remembrance, history, and family. Inspired by her grandparents' life on the real Arranmore Island, Doyle infuses every aspect of the novel with the richness of Irish folklore and culture: readers will be captivated by descriptions of the Island's beauty and magical history. The perilous climax doesn't resolve all plot threads, but enough questions are answered to provide an emotionally satisfying conclusion while teasing the battle ahead for the lovable crew. -VERDICT A first purchase, modern yet timeless fantasy with plenty of heart and a Celtic twist.-Marybeth -Kozikowski, Sachem Public Library, Holbrook, NY © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.