Cover image for The hiding place : a novel
Title:
The hiding place : a novel
Author:
Tudor, C. J., author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Crown, [2019]
Physical Description:
278 pages ; 25 cm
Summary:
"The thrilling second novel from the author of The Chalk Man, about a teacher with a hidden agenda who returns to settle scores at a school he once attended, only to uncover a darker secret than he could have imagined. Joe never wanted to come back to Arnhill. After the way things ended with his old gang--the betrayal, the suicide, the murder--and after what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But Joe doesn't have a choice. Because judging by what was done to that poor Morton kid, what happened all those years ago to Joe's sister is happening again. And only Joe knows who is really at fault. Lying his way into a teaching job at his former high school is the easy part. Facing off with former friends who are none too happy to have him back in town--while avoiding the enemies he's made in the years since--is tougher. But the hardest part of all will be returning to that abandoned mine where it all went wrong and his life changed forever, and finally confronting the shocking, horrifying truth about Arnhill, his sister, and himself. Because for Joe, the worst moment of his life wasn't the day his sister went missing. It was the day she came back. With the same virtuosic command of character and pacing she displayed in The Chalk Man, CJ Tudor has once again crafted an extraordinary novel that brilliantly blends harrowing psychological suspense, a devilishly puzzling mystery, and enough shocks and thrills to satisfy even the most seasoned reader"--

"A suspense novel about a teacher returning to his hometown"--
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9781524761011
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item Popular Materials-New Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The thrilling second novel from the author of The Chalk Man , about a teacher with a hidden agenda who returns to settle scores at a school he once attended, only to uncover a darker secret than he could have imagined.

Joe never wanted to come back to Arnhill. After the way things ended with his old gang--the betrayal, the suicide, the murder--and after what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But Joe doesn't have a choice. Because judging by what was done to that poor Morton kid, what happened all those years ago to Joe's sister is happening again. And only Joe knows who is really at fault.

Lying his way into a teaching job at his former high school is the easy part. Facing off with former friends who are none too happy to have him back in town--while avoiding the enemies he's made in the years since--is tougher. But the hardest part of all will be returning to that abandoned mine where it all went wrong and his life changed forever, and finally confronting the shocking, horrifying truth about Arnhill, his sister, and himself. Because for Joe, the worst moment of his life wasn't the day his sister went missing.

It was the day she came back .

With the same virtuosic command of character and pacing she displayed in The Chalk Man , C. J. Tudor has once again crafted an extraordinary novel that brilliantly blends harrowing psychological suspense, a devilishly puzzling mystery, and enough shocks and thrills to satisfy even the most seasoned reader.


Author Notes

C. J. TUDOR is the author of The Chalk Man , and lives in Nottingham, England, with her partner and three-year-old daughter. Over the years she has worked as a copywriter, television presenter, voice-over, and dog walker. She is now thrilled to be able to write full-time, and doesn't miss chasing wet dogs through muddy fields all that much.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Joe Thorne hasn't returned to Arnhill, the gritty mining town where he grew up, since his father and sister died, but when he learns of the apparent murder-suicide of an Arnhill teacher and her son, Joe is gripped by the similarities to his family's story. Like Joe's sister, Annie, the supposedly murdered boy disappeared for 24 hours, returning drastically changed and unable to say where he'd been. Whatever forces took Annie appear to be back, and Joe resolves to confront them. He easily secures a teaching position at Arnhill's high school and agrees to rent the deceased teacher's home, made affordable by its barely dry crime scene. Once in Arnhill, however, things get complicated: his bullying childhood friend, Steve, is gunning for him; his bookie's sadistic enforcer is a constant threat; and he's finally forced to face his own role in Annie's disappearance. Joe's wisecracking is well-timed comic relief from Arnhill's pervasive darkness; Tudor has crafted another fantastic horror-tinged thriller (after The Chalk Man, 2018) in the vein of John Connolly and Brendan Duffy.--Christine Tran Copyright 2018 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Forty-year-old teacher Joseph Thorne, the narrator of this devastating thriller from British author Tudor (The Chalk Man), moves home to Arnhill, takes a job at his old school, and rents the cottage where a woman recently murdered her 11-year-old son before committing suicide. Joe claims that he wants to give back to the community, but he actually returned to the former mining village because of an anonymous email: "I know what happened to your sister. It's happening again." Joe is determined to avenge his eight-year-old sister, Annie, who went missing decades ago, but there are forces conspiring against him. Further complicating matters are a vicious loan shark and the apparent haunting of Joe's new house. Flashbacks to 1992 gradually reveal what tragedy befell Annie, while sharply drawn characters illustrate the cyclical natures of violence and victimhood. Joe's dark humor may balance the grim plot, but the epilogue is the stuff of nightmares. Tudor casts a searing light on the long-term damage wrought by grief, guilt, and regret. Agent: Madeleine Milburn, Madeleine Milburn Literary (U.K.). (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Something isn't right in Arnhill, a former mining town in England. Following the gruesome murder of a young boy by his mother, and her suicide by shotgun, the only clue left behind was "Not My Son," written in blood. English teacher Joe Thorne, who turned his back on Arnhill 25 years earlier, receives an anonymous email: "I know what happened to your sister. It's happening again." Joe returns reluctantly, intrigued by the email but also because he owes someone big money and needs a place to hide. He rents the cottage where the murder occurred, and shortly after moving in strange occurrences begin that stir memories of the disappearance and reappearance of his eight-year-old sister years ago. The house is telling him something, but the town and its inhabitants are determined to see him leave once again. One old friend in particular has his own reasons for wanting Joe gone. VERDICT Fasten your seat belts, for this book takes off in the first chapter and never lets go. Tudor (The Chalk Man) has written what begins as a mystery and ends up as something akin to a Stephen King thriller.-Susan Santa, Shelter Rock P.L., Albertson, NY © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.