Cover image for BABEL IN A BAG : Pachinko
Title:
BABEL IN A BAG : Pachinko
Author:
Lee, Min Jin, author.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Physical Description:
10 trade paperback books (527 pages); 21 cm, 1 audiobook (16 discs); 22 x 16 x 8 in. + laminated sheets.
Summary:
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--

In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.
General Note:
Bag contains 10 Trade Paperback copies of the book, laminated reading guide, author bio. and contents sheets.

Please ask a staff member for information about checking out this bag.
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
BABEL IN A BAG Book Bag Kit Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order