Cover image for Begone the Raggedy Witches
Title:
Begone the Raggedy Witches
Author:
Kiernan, Celine, author.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Somerville, MA : Walker Books Ltd, 2018.
Physical Description:
270 pages ; 21 cm.
Summary:
"A middle-grade fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge, Katherine Rundell and Sally Gardner. On the night that Mup's Aunty dies the Raggedy Witches come for Mup's mam. Pale, cold, relentless, they will do anything to coax Mam back to Witches Borough. When they kidnap Mup's dad, Mup and her mam must leave the mundane world to rescue him. But Mam is strange on this side of the border - striding, powerful, and distant. Even if they can save Dad, Mup is not sure anything will ever be the same again..."-- Publisher description.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780763699963

9781406366020
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

When witches kidnap her dad, Mup is swept up in a wild tide of magic that carries her to another world. Can she reunite her family and find her way back?

On the night that Aunty dies, the raggedy witches come for Mup's family. Pale, cold, and relentless, the witches will do anything for the tyrannical queen who has outlawed most magic and enforces her laws with terror and cruelty -- and who happens to be Mup's grandmother. When witches carry off her dad, Mup and her mam leave the mundane world to rescue him. But everything is odd in the strange, glittering Witches Borough, even Mam. Even Mup herself. In a world of rhyming crows, talking cats, and golden forests, it's all Mup can do to keep her wits about her. And even if she can save her dad, Mup's not sure if anything will ever be the same again. First in a new trilogy by Irish author Celine Kiernan, this tale of family and forbidden magic charts a fresh path through the landscape of beloved fantasy tradition -- and promises to bewitch any reader in search of stories to love.


Author Notes

Celine Kiernan is the award-winning author of several novels for young people, including Into the Grey, which won the Children's Books Ireland Book of the Year Award, and the Moorehawke trilogy. Celine Kiernan lives in Ireland.


Reviews 1

Booklist Review

From the author of Into the Grey (2014) comes this exciting first adventure in the Wild Magic trilogy. When Aunty dies, everything changes: Mup sees the witches for the first time. When they take her father, Mup must journey with her mam, her baby brother, and her dog, Badger, into another world to save him. Along the way, Mup uncovers family secrets and the cold reality of the Witches Borough. While the adult characters, from Mup's perspective, are often cold or distant, and the witches' rule brings darkness, the story isn't without its lighthearted moments; Mup's brother (who becomes a dog) offers comic relief with his playful and innocent personality. Crow, a raven who can only speak in rhymes, may resonate with readers the most, as he struggles with speech and with his anger toward adults for letting him down. Kiernan finds magic in music, rhyme, and freedom of speech in this brilliant adventure into another world.--Elizabeth Konkel Copyright 2018 Booklist