Cover image for The patchwork bride
Title:
The patchwork bride
Author:
Dallas, Sandra, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
[Large print ed.]
Publication Information:
Thorndike, Maine : Center Point Large Print, 2018.
Physical Description:
381 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
Summary:
"When her granddaughter June unexpectedly arrives and announces she's calling off her wedding, Ellen tells her the story of Nell, a Kansas-born woman who goes to the High Plains of New Mexico Territory in 1898 in search of a husband and the impending marriages she ran away from before marrying the love of her life"--
General Note:
Regular print version previously published by: St. Martin's Press.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781683248705
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Ellen is putting the finishing touches on a wedding quilt made from scraps of old dresses when the bride-to-be -- her granddaughter June -- unexpectedly arrives and announces she's calling off the marriage. With the tending of June's uncertain heart in mind, Ellen tells her the story of Nell, a Kansas-born woman who goes to the High Plains of New Mexico Territory in 1898 in search of a husband.


Author Notes

Sandra Dallas graduated from the University of Denver with a degree in journalism and began her writing career as a reporter with Business Week.

While a reporter, she began writing nonfiction which include Sacred Paint, which won the National Cowboy Hall of Fame Western Heritage Wrangler Award, and The Quilt That Walked to Golden, recipient of the Independent Publishers Association Benjamin Franklin Award.

Turning to fiction in 1990, Sandra has published a number of novels including Buster Midnight's Cafe, Alice's Tulips, and Prayers For Sale. She is the recipient of the Women Writing the West Willa Award for New Mercies, and two-time winner of the Western Writers of America Spur Award, for The Chili Queen and Tallgrass. In addition, she was a finalist for the Colorado Book Award, the Mountain and Plains Booksellers Association Award, and a four-time finalist for the Women Writing the West Willa Award.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 1

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* June is getting married, or so her grandmother, Ellen, thinks. Ellen cares for her husband, Ben, who suffers from dementia. In her free time, she sits on the porch and sews pieces of old wedding dresses into a quilt for her granddaughter. When June shows up with the news that she is calling off the wedding, Ellen tells her the story of her friend, Nell, who lived in New Mexico in the late 1800s. Being of the age to marry, Nell sets out to find herself a husband. After having her heart broken, she turns down several marriage proposals, choosing instead to wait for the right man. Nell learns several things about herself along her journey, as does June as she listens to the tale her grandmother weaves. Dallas (Hardscrabble, 2018) has done it again, telling three different stories with her trademark homespun style. Strong female characters and intriguing storytelling draw the reader into this two-hanky read full of love and loss. Readers of gentle romances will thrill to read Dallas' latest novel, which should appeal to fans of Fannie Flagg and Jennifer Chiaverini.--Milone Hill, Nanci Copyright 2010 Booklist