Cover image for Notes from my captivity
Title:
Notes from my captivity
Author:
Parks, Kathy (Kathleen D.), author.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2018]

©2018
Physical Description:
335 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great college; becoming a revered journalist like her idol, Sydney Declay; and making her late father proud of her. So when Adrienne is offered the chance to write an article that will get her into her dream school and debunk her foolish stepfather's belief that a legendary family of hermits is living in the Siberian wilderness, there's no question that she's going to fly across the world. But the Russian terrain is even less forgiving than Adrienne. And when disaster strikes, none of their extensive preparations seem to matter. Now Adrienne's being held captive by the family she was convinced didn't exist, and her best hope for escape is to act like she cares about them, even if it means wooing the youngest son.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062394002
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction New Materials
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Like Siberia itself, this story is wild, mysterious, full of danger--and then, quite unexpectedly, captivates you with its beauty. I was so glad I went on the adventure." --Goldy Moldavsky, New York Times bestselling author of Kill the Boy Band

Notes from My Captivity is a sharp, sensitive, and darkly funny novel perfect for fans of Libba Bray's Beauty Queens and Adam Silvera's More Happy Than Not.

Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great colle≥ becoming a revered journalist like her idol, Sydney Declay; and making her late father proud of her.

So when Adrienne is offered the chance to write an article that will get her into her dream school and debunk her foolish stepfather's belief that a legendary family of hermits is living in the Siberian wilderness, there's no question that she's going to fly across the world.

But the Russian terrain is even less forgiving than Adrienne. And when disaster strikes, none of their extensive preparations seem to matter. Now Adrienne's being held captive by the family she was convinced didn't exist, and her best hope for escape is to act like she cares about them, even if it means wooing the youngest son.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Adrienne is accompanying her stepfather, Dan, on an expedition to Siberia, where Dan hopes to track down a mysterious family living in the wild. As an aspiring journalist, Adrienne senses that this adventure could be her first big story, and she approaches the journey with gusto. It starts off promising, with colorful Russian guides to navigate the treacherous river and slay the wild bears. But one morning, Adrienne and Dan find them all dead, and the foreboding that has lurked in the background of their trip quickly ratchets to stark terror. When Adrienne is nearly killed, she finds herself rescued (or perhaps imprisoned) by the strange and dangerous Osinov family, with whom she develops an unusual bond. Adrienne is a particularly insightful and entertaining narrator; her indefatigable wry humor contrasts effectively with her terrifying situation. Like Gemma in Lucy Christopher's Stolen (2010), Adrienne comes to have mixed feelings about her captors and their off-the-grid lifestyle. Readers looking for a unique, edgy read will love the latest from the author of The Lifeboat Clique (2016).--Diane Colson Copyright 2018 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

When aspiring journalist Adrienne, 17, is given the opportunity to travel to Siberia with her recently disgraced stepfather, an anthropology professor, she hopes to both debunk a myth that her stepfather holds dearly and write an article that will get her into the college of her dreams. The two-week adventure goes horribly awry, however, after Adrienne, her stepfather, and their crew find the Osinovs, a Russian family who fell off the grid 30 years earlier. When the rest of her party is killed in a boating accident on a river and Adrienne is injured, she is taken in by the mysterious, wild family. Fearing for her life, Adrienne is forced to rethink all of her beliefs. Parks (The Lifeboat Clique) creates an inventive, multilayered tale about family, faith, mysticism, and survival, offering harrowing life-or-death adventure, as well as robust characters as memorable as they are unique. While Parks's story leans heavily on the idea of an afterlife, she does not linger on the question of religion or God, allowing readers to draw their own conclusions. Ages 13-up. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 10 Up-Adrienne Cahille has one goal in mind when she accompanies her step-father Dan, a single-minded academic, on a trip to Siberia. Dan is determined to find the Osimovs, a family who had disappeared into the wilderness 30 years before and have gained almost mythic status, and in doing so regain his reputation. Adrienne is seeking a story for her college admission and emulating a journalist she admires in the hope that she can prove Dan's faith is sadly misplaced. The story takes a sharp turn when the group runs into a tragic situation and Adrienne's only hope for escape means forming a relationship with a member of the very family she had always considered a fairy tale. This is a survival story that will take readers by surprise, given that it starts with a somewhat petulant protagonist who then loses almost everyone around her. Offering danger, romance, and a few ghosts, this is a trip that will capture readers' attention. Language and sexual situations make this suitable for older teens. VERDICT A fast-paced read for fans of survival fiction with well-developed characters. A strong purchase for most YA collections.-Betsy Fraser, Calgary Public Library, Alta. © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.