Cover image for Mother American night : my life in crazy times
Title:
Mother American night : my life in crazy times
Author:
Barlow, John Perry, 1947-2018, author.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Crown Archetype, [2018]
Physical Description:
xi, 270 pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 25 cm
Summary:
"[This] is the wild, funny, heartbreaking, and often unbelievable (yet completely true) story of an American icon. Born into a powerful Wyoming political family, John Perry Barlow wrote the lyrics for thirty Grateful Dead songs while also running his family's cattle ranch ... Blessed with an incredible sense of humor and a unique voice, Barlow was a born storyteller in the tradition of Mark Twain and Will Rogers. Through intimate portraits of friends and acquaintances from Bob Weir and Jerry Garcia to Timothy Leary and Steve Jobs, [this book] traces the generational passage by which the counterculture became the culture, and it shows why learning to accept love may be the hardest thing we ever ask of ourselves"--Amazon.com.
Language:
English
Contents:
Not dead enough -- The Little Red Bull -- Norman and Mim -- Home on the ranch -- Fountain Valley -- Getting into college -- Wesleyan -- Good old Grateful Dead -- Summer of love -- Harvard Yard -- Fair-haired boy -- An incredible week -- The journey east -- Coming home -- New York, New York -- Mexicali blues -- Sugar magnolia -- Looks like rain -- Cassidy -- John F. Kennedy, Jr. -- Heaven help the fool -- Adult behavior -- Éminence grise -- Global sociopath -- Feel like a stranger -- Word processing -- Welcome to Apple -- A little light -- the ivory gavel -- A call from the White House -- Phiber Optik and Acid Phreak -- A visit from the FBI -- EFF -- Timothy Leary redux -- Who's NeXT -- Meeting Cynthia --Living with her -- Losing her -- Rehab -- A gold rush of the heart -- He's gone -- Timothy Leary's dead -- Kennedy-Nixon -- Two funerals -- Brazil -- the pure water project -- The Freedom of the Press Foundation -- Hell in a bucket -- Love forgives everything.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9781524760182

9781524760199
Format :
Book