Cover image for The wife between us : a novel
Title:
The wife between us : a novel
Author:
Hendricks, Greer, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
Unabridged.
Publication Information:
[New York] : Macmillan Audio, [2018]

℗2017
Physical Description:
9 audio discs (approximately 11 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Summary:
A twisted and deliciously chilling thriller that exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage, and the dangerous truths people ignore in the name of love.
General Note:
Title from web page.

Compact discs.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781427293039
Format :
Audiobook on CD

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of the 21st century's more cynical version of the O. Henry ending." -- The Washington Post

From Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen comes the next hit audiobook thriller, an instant New York Times bestseller

When you listen to this audiobook, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are listening to a story about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement - a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Listen for the truth between the lies.

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Addictive domestic thrillers with twist-filled plots and unreliable narrators are increasingly popular. Add in assumptions that should not be assumed, shape-shifting, surprising characters and a complex chronology, and you have a hint of what you'll find in The Wife Between Us ... All will be made clear, or perhaps not, as you listen to Julia Whelan's tautly paced performance." -- BookPage

"A clever thriller with masterful twists. " - Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris's Behind Closed Doors and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives in this domestic thriller." - Library Journal

"A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing. " -Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters ; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read " -Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

This audiobook contains a bonus interview with the authors


Author Notes

Greer Hendricks is an American author and editor, based in Manhattan. She is a graduate of Columbia University, where she earned a master's in Journalism while working at Allure magazine. Her work has also appeared in The New York Times and Publishers Weekly. From 1994-2014 she worked at Simon and Schuster first, as an assistant editor, then went on to become an editor. She edited numerous writers. That is where she met Sarah Pekkanen and became her editor. After leaving Simon and Schuster they decided to write a novel together. The Wife Between Us is their first collaboration and is Greer Hendrick's first novel. In 2019 she made the Bestseller List with her title, An Anonymous Girl.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Notable women's-fiction author Pekkanen teams up with former editor Hendricks in this seamless thriller that will keep readers on their toes to the very end. At first glance, poor Vanessa appears desperate to stop the impending marriage between her ex-husband and his new young lover, Nellie. Richard is a powerful and demanding man, and Vanessa is determined to save Nellie from the fate Vanessa endured as a controlled trophy wife. But things aren't always as they seem. Is Vanessa crazy or cunning? What's her endgame? And is Nellie who is suspiciously similar to Vanessa in both looks and supposed background as innocent as she comes across? What is Richard really after in all of this? To say anything more about the myriad plot twists, red herrings, and unreliable narrators would give it all away. Readers will enjoy the dizzying back-and-forth as they attempt to figure out just who to root for and as the suspense ratchets up to one hell of a conclusion.--Vnuk, Rebecca Copyright 2018 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Voice actor Whelan rises to the challenge of narrating this psychological thriller by Pekkanen and Hendricks, which is told from the perspective an unreliable narrator named Vanessa Thompson. She appears to be a scorned woman with an alcohol problem and a disturbing fixation on the younger woman who is engaged to her ex-husband. Even though by now there have been enough novels with unreliable narrators to reduce the element of surprise, the authors use plenty of literary trickery to provide at least three genuine jaw-droppers. Since one of them is more easily hidden on the page than in audio format, reader Whelan is faced with the problem of keeping the secret while playing fair vocally, a task she carries off so subtly it's unnoticeable until the big reveal. She provides the proper voices for Vanessa, the hot mess of an ex-wife, the about-to-be-wed buoyant Manhattan preschool teacher Nellie, and the man in their lives, Richard, a hedge fund manager who sounds a little rigid. It's worth noting that, after twisting its plot to the breaking point, this ultra-deceptive novel ends with the advice that "the truth is the only way to move forward." However, Whelan's proven ability to coyly project deceit leaves listeners with no guarantee. A St. Martin's hardcover. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Nellie is about to marry her dream guy, the one who makes her feel safe and will give her the life she always imagined. There's only one problem-his crazy ex-wife Vanessa, who can't seem let go of the past. With Vanessa's borderline stalking behavior, Nellie and her fiancé find themselves in an unwelcome love triangle. But is it really that easy? Is Vanessa simply the older, rejected, and replaced first wife who is unstable? Hendricks and Pekkanen have crafted a domestic thriller in the style of Gone Girl, which keeps the reader intrigued and guessing. Some of the twists are quite clever, even gasp-producing, and expose the depth of the characters, particularly Vanessa. Narrator Julia Whelan does a good job with this increasingly emotional narrative, focusing on telling a complicated tale that alternates among protagonists and various time spans while keeping the voices clear and distinct. VERDICT Despite a few unnecessary twists that leave listeners wanting, overall this is a suspenseful and worthwhile work that adds to the genre of psychological thrillers. Readers who enjoy BA Paris and Gillian Flynn will enjoy this title. ["Readers...will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller": LJ 10/15/17 starred review of the St. Martin's hc.]-Nicole A. Cooke, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.