Cover image for Children of blood and bone
Title:
Children of blood and bone
Author:
Adeyemi, Tomi, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Henry Holt and Company, 2018.
Physical Description:
531 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
Seventeen-year-old Zélie, her older brother Tzain, and rogue princess Amari fight to restore magic to the land and activate a new generation of magi, but they are ruthlessly pursued by the crown prince, who believes the return of magic will mean the end of the monarchy.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250170972
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction New Materials
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Instant New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR 's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazine's 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweek's 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe's Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." -- Entertainment Weekly

"The epic I've been waiting for." -- New York Times -bestselling author Marie Lu

"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!" -- New York Times -bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

"The next big thing in literature and film." -- Ebony

"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." -- Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller , March 14, 2018


Author Notes

Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. She is the author of Children of Blood and Bone .


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Magic is gone in Zélie's kingdom; it was violently eradicated by power-hungry King Saran, and anyone with the capacity for magic abilities the maji, who all have snow-white hair is now a second-class citizen. But Zélie holds tight to the old stories, and she's secretly learning to fight, unwilling to take the unjust treatment of her people lying down. Meanwhile, Saran's daughter, Amari, has escaped her cruel father's palace with a relic containing the power to reignite magic among maji, and after a chance run-in with Zélie and her brother, Tzain, the trio traverses the kingdom, hoping to use the relic to restore magic to every maji. But Amari's own brother, Inan, who's convinced magic is too dangerous to permit, is hot on their trail. Adeyemi's expansive debut plunges readers into a dense, vivid world full of intriguing politics, evocative magic, and brutal violence. Cinematic pacing, alternating viewpoints, and well-choreographed action make the pages fly toward the cliff-hanger ending, which will surely leave readers eager for the next installment. Though she often uses tried-and-true fantasy tropes, Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel José Older, and Sabaa Tahir. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: This debut trilogy opener is already building lots of buzz, thanks to a movie deal in the works and a huge marketing campaign.--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2018 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Turpin's bold reading of Adeyemi's Afro-futurist fantasy solidifies her reputation as one of the best voice actors working today. Since he took power 11 years earlier, King Saran has brutally suppressed the use of magic in the fictional African kingdom of Orïsha. When his 17-year-old daughter, Amari, is motivated by her father's violence to flee the palace and head for the unknown, she teams up with the embattled teen diviner Zélie to restore magic-and justice-to Zélie's people. Turpin is a star at voicing the novel's characters, but the contralto depth she employs for Zélie stands out-particularly during religious rituals, in which Zélie cries out to the gods for help in her quest. Turpin's sonorous incantation of prayers, as well as her brisk pacing during exciting moments of danger, will have listeners on the edge of their seats. Her depiction of the king's rage is also downright terrifying, as Turpin is unafraid to roar. Her hypnotic performance is one to be reckoned with. Ages 14-up. A Holt hardcover. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-After King Saran brutally murdered the maji (or "maggots," according to the king), Orïsha is no longer a magic-filled world of Burners, Healers, Reapers, and Connectors, and Zélie and her older brother Tzain struggle to make ends meet. Zélie's white hair marks her as a divîner, with potential for magic, and she trains and plots against Saran's heavy-handed rule. When King Saran's daughter, in possession of a stolen scroll, begs for Zélie's help, the two go on the run with Tzain as an initially reluctant accomplice. The trio risk their lives on the seemingly impossible task of uniting the scroll with sacred objects, which will restore magic to the world. Working against them is the crown prince, Inan, tasked by the king to retrieve the scroll at any cost. Gory killings erupt throughout, with a final battle drenched in blood. Narrator Bahni Turpin juggles voices as Zélie, Amari, Tzain, and Inan alternate as narrators, along with many secondary characters. Turpin slides easily from rolling r's to a lilting cadence to distinguish one from another. VERDICT Adeyemi's epic fantasy delivers an Afrocentric world of jungles and oceans, leopanairs and coconut boats. Consider for high school and public libraries.-Maggie Knapp, Trinity Valley Sch., Fort Worth, TX © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.