Cover image for History of Rome
History of Rome
Livy, author.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Cambridge, Massachusetts ; London, England : Harvard University Press, 2017-<2021>

Physical Description:
volumes ; 17 cm.
"Livy (Titus Livius), the great Roman historian, was born at Patavium (Padua) in 64 or 59 BC, where after years in Rome he died in AD 12 or 17. Livy's history, composed as the imperial autocracy of Augustus was replacing the republican system that had stood for over 500 years, presents in splendid style a vivid narrative of Rome's rise from the traditional foundation of the city in 753 or 751 BC to 9 BC and illustrates the collective and individual virtues necessary to achieve and maintain such greatness. Of its 142 books, conventionally divided into pentads and decads, we have 1-10 and 21-45 complete, and short summaries (periochae) of all the rest except 41 and 43-45; 11-20 are lost, and of the rest only fragments and the summaries remain. The fourth decad comprises two recognizable pentads: Books 31-35 narrate the Second Macedonian War (200-196) and its aftermath, then Books 36-40 the years from 191 to 180, when Rome crushed and shrank Antiochus' empire to extend and consolidate her mastery over the Hellenistic states. This edition replaces the original Loeb edition by Evan T. Sage [and] offers a text based on Briscoe's edition, a fresh translation, and ample annotation fully current with modern scholarship."--
General Note:
"A completely new edition was ... thought to be needed ... This volume and the two that follow [for Livy's 'fourth decad'] are the start of that process of replacement."--[Volume] IX, page vii.

[Based on outline of 1919 edition] I. Books 1-2 -- II. Books 3-4 -- III. Books 5-7 -- IV. Books 8-10 -- V. Books 21-22 / edited and translated by J. C.Yardley ; introduction by Dexter Hoyos and John Briscoe -- VI. Books 23-25 / edited and translated by J. C. Yardley -- VII. Books 26-27 / edited and translated by J. C. Yardley -- VIII. Books 28-30 -- IX. Books 31-34 / edited and translated by J. C. Yardley ; introduction by Dexter Hoyos -- X. Books 35-37 / edited and translated by J. C. Yardley -- XI. Books 38-40 / edited and translated by J. C. Yardley -- XII. Books 40-42 -- XIII. Books 43-45 -- XIV. Summaries. Fragments. Julius Obsequens. General Index.






Format :