Cover image for The summer that made us
Title:
The summer that made us
Author:
Carr, Robyn, author.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Don Mills, Ontario : Mira Books, [2017].

©2017
Physical Description:
330 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
For the Hempsteads, two sisters who married two brothers and had three daughters each, summers were idyllic. The women would escape the city the moment school was out to gather at the family house on Lake Waseka. The lake was a magical place, a haven where they were happy and carefree. All of their problems drifted away as the days passed in sun-dappled contentment. Until the summer that changed everything. After an accidental drowning turned the lake house into a site of tragedy and grief, it was closed up. For good. Torn apart, none of the Hempstead women speak of what happened that summer, and relationships between them are uneasy at best to hurtful at worst. But in the face of new challenges, one woman is determined to draw her family together again, and the only way that can happen is to return to the lake and face the truth.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780778331049
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction On Display
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Mothers and daughters, sisters and cousins--they lived for summers at the lake house until a tragic accident changed everything. The Summer That Made Us is an unforgettable story about a family learning to accept the past, to forgive and to love each other again.

That was then...

For the Hempsteads, two sisters who married two brothers and had three daughters each, summers were idyllic. The women would escape the city the moment school was out to gather at the family house on Lake Waseka. The lake was a magical place, a haven where they were happy and carefree. All of their problems drifted away as the days passed in sun-dappled contentment. Until the summer that changed everything.

This is now...

After an accidental drowning turned the lake house into a site of tragedy and grief, it was closed up. For good. Torn apart, none of the Hempstead women speak of what happened that summer, and relationships between them are uneasy at best to hurtful at worst. But in the face of new challenges, one woman is determined to draw her family together again, and the only way that can happen is to return to the lake and face the truth.

Robyn Carr has crafted a beautifully woven story about the complexities of family dynamics and the value of strong female relationships.


Author Notes

Robyn Carr is a best-selling author of romance novels. She studied nursing in college, but because she married her high school sweetheart who then joined the US Navy, Carr never had time to stay in one place and practice nursing. Instead, she became a reader of romance novels and then decided to write her own. Since that time she has written many historical and contemporary-based romance novels.

Robyn's titles include the Virgin River, Thunder Point, and Grace Valley series as well as a number of stand-alone novels. Robyn's titles, A New Hope and Wildest Dreams, made the New York Times bestseller list in 2015. Robyn's titles, Backward Glance, What We Find, The House on Olive Street and The Life She Wants, made the New York Times bestseller list in 2016.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Charley Hempstead is at loose ends when her talk show is cancelled, but she soon finds purpose in caring for her sister. Meg, who has breast cancer, has a final wish: to spend one more summer on Lake Waseka, Minnesota, with their cousins, something they haven't done since the fateful summer their youngest sister drowned. Krista is the first cousin to arrive, on a bus fresh from prison. Hope is less enthusiastic about leaving her tony Philadelphia neighborhood but is enticed west by the prospect of securing her inheritance. Charley isn't sure anything can fix her relationship with her mother, Louise, nor the relationship between Louise and her sister, Jo. Far more happened that summer than the tragic accident on the lake, and Louise wants to keep it buried. This novel of sisters and secrets has a pleasant setting, a leisurely pace, and a sweet story line for Krista that will please fans of Carr's Virgin River series. Themes of responsibility, forgiveness, and the agony and ecstasy of female relatives will appeal to readers of Debbie Macomber and Susan Wiggs.--Maguire, Susan Copyright 2017 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Multiple RITA Award winner Carr ("Virgin River" series) continues to explore the connections that women build with one another in her latest stand-alone novel. Not as romantic as some of her other titles, Carr's latest instead narrows in on the tangled and intimate bonds of three generations of women in a large family, especially the circumstances that can make or break the strongest relationships. With an abundance of female characters-two sisters marry two brothers and each of the sisters has three daughters (double cousins)-and motivations, the many plotlines, mysteries, and time jumps can be a bit confusing, but the main focus is on family and the last summer they were all together, the one summer at their shared lake house where everything changed. That is the pivot that eventually pulls the threads together into a compelling and deeply satisfying conclusion. Verdict Multiple time lines and points of view, along with a cast of many women, can make this difficult to follow, but readers who enjoy piecing together complex family stories with realistically flawed characters should enjoy this. [See Prepub Alert, 4/10/17.]-Charli Osborne, Oak Park P.L., MI © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.