Cover image for My (part-time) Paris life : how running away brought me home
Title:
My (part-time) Paris life : how running away brought me home
Author:
Anselmo, Lisa, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, [2016]
Physical Description:
242 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
"Poignant, touching, and lively, this memoir of a woman who loses her mother and creates a new life for herself in Paris will speak to anyone who has lost a parent or reinvented themselves. Lisa Anselmo wrapped her entire life around her mother, a strong woman who was a defining force in her daughter's life--maybe too defining. When her mother dies from breast cancer, Lisa realizes she hadn't built a life of her own, and struggles to find her purpose. Who is she without her mother--and her mother's expectations? Desperate for answers, she reaches for a lifeline in the form of an apartment in Paris, refusing to play it safe for the first time. What starts out as a lurching act of survival sets Lisa on a course that reshapes her life in ways she never could have imagined. But how can you imagine a life bigger than anything you've ever known? In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love and Wild, My (Part-time) Paris Life a story is for anyone who's ever felt lost or hopeless, but still holds out hope of something more. This candid memoir explores one woman's search for peace and meaning, and how the ups and downs of expat life in Paris taught her to let go of fear, find self-worth, and create real, lasting happiness"--
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250067470
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
DC705.A57 A3 2016 Adult Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Lisa Anselmo wrapped her entire life around her mother, a strong woman who was a defining force in Lisa's life--maybe too defining. When her mother dies from breast cancer, Lisa realizes she hadn't built a life of her own and struggles to find her purpose. Who is she without her mother--and her mother's expectations?

Desperate for answers, she turns to her favorite city--Paris--and impulsively buys a small apartment, refusing to play it safe for the first time. What starts out as an act of survival sets Lisa on a course that reshapes her life in ways she never could have imagined. Suddenly, she's living like a local in a city she thought she knew, but her high school French, while fine for buying bread at the corner boulangerie , goes only so far when Paris gives her a strong dose of real life. From dating to home ownership in a foreign country, Lisa quickly learns it's not all picnics on the Seine, and starts to doubt herself--and her love of the city. But she came to Paris to be happy, and she can't give up now. Isn't happiness worth fighting for?

In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love and Wild , My (Part-time) Paris Life a story is for anyone who's ever felt lost or hopeless, but still dreams of something more. This candid memoir explores one woman's search for peace and meaning, and how the ups and downs of expat life in Paris taught her to let go of fear, find self-worth, and create real, lasting happiness in the City of Light.


Author Notes

LISA ANSELMO has spent most of her professional career in magazine publishing, working on such iconic brands as Allure, Mademoiselle, InStyle , and People . She's been everything from a creative director to an opera singer, but ultimately, she has followed her passion for storytelling and inspiring people.

Anselmo started traveling to Paris regularly more than ten years ago--at first, to cover the fashion trade shows for a lifestyle website. But soon, she had cultivated friends--both Parisians and expats--and eventually built another life across the ocean. After losing her mother to breast cancer, she was motivated to make her other life official, buying an apartment in Paris's Right Bank.

In 2014, she decided to leave her day job, and now splits her time between New York and Paris, where she writes full time. Her experiences inspired the memoir My (Part-Time) Paris Life, a candid narrative of a woman searching for hope and healing in the city she loves.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

In her touching memoir, Anselmo delves into such serious issues as mortality and self-worth while maintaining a fresh voice and charming wit. After losing her mother to breast cancer, Anselmo realizes that she may be too complacent about her life. Her beloved, strong-willed mother had always been a driving force in many of her decisions and actions (or inactions). Now, suddenly without her guiding light, Lisa realizes she must figure out her place in the world. She turns to Paris, the city that has captivated her for years. After months of deliberation, Anselmo decides to purchase an apartment in the City of Light in an attempt to rediscover herself and her passions. In her poignant look back, she captures the magic of discovering life in a new city while detailing the many misadventures of owning a property overseas. Readers who enjoyed Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love (2006) will appreciate Anselmo's journey of self-discovery in this honest account.--Smith, Patricia Copyright 2016 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

In this enjoyable, self-searching memoir, Anselmo embraces her fears and makes a decision that changes her life. Living in New York and working as a top creative director for Time Inc., she loved her job, which allowed her to travel to Paris regularly. But beneath the polished surface, Anselmo struggled for independence from a controlling mother whom she loved dearly yet who also inhibited her personal growth. When Anselmo's mother dies from breast cancer, she is shattered; in time, she begins to build a new life for herself. She purchases an apartment in a working class neighborhood of Paris and immerses herself in everyday Parisian life. When her apartment develops what initially seems to be a small leak, Anselmo finds herself caught up in the Byzantine French labor laws, yet the author persists in creating a new home for herself. She makes new friends, improves her French, and starts a blog. Anselmo writes intimately about her complex relationship with her mother and how her fears shaped her view of life. "It was time to stop waiting to live, and to just live. To liberate myself from perfection and put myself out there-flaws, pain, and all." In the end, this is a sweet and inspiring account of one woman's taxing yet rewarding search for peace, happiness, and contentment in the City of Light. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.