Cover image for Run the risk
Title:
Run the risk
Author:
Van Diepen, Allison.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Harperteen 2017.
Physical Description:
277 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
Enlisting a reformed Mateo's help when her brother begins slipping into gang life, Grace tries to convince herself that she is not going to have her heart broken again in the face of difficult sacrifices.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062433350
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From the author of On the Edge and Light of Day, Run the Risk is a romantic and gritty story, perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles.

Grace has done her best to move on since her ex-boyfriend Mateo chose gang life over her. But even though years have passed, she hasn't forgotten him--especially since she's seen her younger brother Alex drawn to a life on the streets. She can't bear to think of Alex making the same mistakes as Mateo, but she feels him slipping away.

So when Mateo suddenly resurfaces, insisting he's left gang life behind him, Grace sees an opportunity. Maybe he could be the one to reach Alex and pull him away from the edge. She tells herself she's only talking to Mateo again because of Alex, but her feelings quickly return. Can she ever trust Mateo again? And is saving her brother worth risking a broken heart? With everyone she loves in danger, Grace must decide how much to sacrifice before it's too late.

Run the Risk is set in the same world as Allison van Diepen's previous novels Light of Day and On the Edge (readers will recognize some of their favorite characters in this book) and features a diverse cast. With romance, action, and realistic friendships, this is a gripping story about the dangers one girl faces to save the people she loves.


Reviews 1

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Grace is in love with Mateo-deeply, agonizingly in love. But when Mateo chooses gang life over his relationship with her, Grace knows she has to let him go. She's moved on and is struggling to keep her brother out of gang life, all while working a full-time job, volunteering at the local day care center, and taking online courses. Then Mateo is hired as the new security guard at the theater where Grace works. Seeing him brings back a rush of pain, resentment, and more than a little bit of love. Mateo claims he's done with gangs for good, but can he be trusted? Van Diepen's story about two teens facing the complexities of love amid gang life and family problems is fast-paced, enticing, and sexy, but it does have some characterization and narrative flaws. While Grace and Mateo are interesting and compelling protagonists, several of the secondary characters feel flat and could have used more development. The parents are rarely mentioned and are seen only briefly, without much explanation as to why they don't play a larger role in the problems their children are confronting. Much of the central plot is revealed only near the end of the novel and feels rushed, leaving the conclusion just partially resolved. Despite its faults, this title will appeal to teens who enjoy an easy, realistic read with elements of romance and intrigue. VERDICT Purchase where the author's books are popular.-Tabitha Nordby, Red River College, Man. © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.