Cover image for Grandpa's great escape
Title:
Grandpa's great escape
Author:
Walliams, David, 1971- , author.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]

©2015
Physical Description:
437 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Summary:
Twelve year old Jack's grandpa lives in a rest home and often mistakes Jack for his World War II squadron commander, but when grandpa wants to escape his boring situation, Jack has to decide how he will help him.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
Ages 8-12.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9780062560896
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

David Walliams, hailed as "the heir to Roald Dahl" by The Spectator, burst onto the American scene with the New York Times bestseller Demon Dentist. Now the UK's #1 bestselling children's author is back with this high-flying adventure about a boy and his grandfather, perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney and Rachel Renee Russell.

Grandpa is Jack's favorite person in the world. It doesn't matter that he wears his slippers to the supermarket, serves Spam a la Custard for dinner, and often doesn't remember Jack's name. But then Grandpa starts to believe he's back in World War II, when he was a Spitfire fighter pilot, and he's sent to live in an old folk's home run by the sinister Matron Swine. Now it's up to Jack to help Grandpa plot a daring escape!


Author Notes

David Edward Walliams was born on August 20, 1971. He is an English comedian, actor, author, television presenter and activist, best known for his partnership with Matt Lucas on the BBC One sketch shows Little Britain, Rock Profile and Come Fly with Me. Since 2012 Walliams has been a judge on the ITV talent show Britain's Got Talent. Since August 2013, he has written and starred in the BBC One sitcom Big School playing chemistry teacher Keith Church. By the end of 2014, Walliams had sold over 4 million books and is described as "the fastest growing children's author in the UK."

His titles include: The Boy in the Dress, Mr. Stink, Rattourger, Demon Dentist, The World's Worst Children, The World's Worst Children 2, The World's Worst Children 3, Awful Auntie, and Bad Dad. His title Grandpa's Great Escape, made the New Zealand Best Seller List. The Midnight Gang was published in 2016 and is an Australian bestseller. Several of his books have been adapted for film.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Young Jack's efforts to keep his beloved but increasingly senile grandpa out of an old folks home lead to a string of wild misadventures in Walliams' latest Brit-flavored farce. Said efforts ultimately come to naught when Grandpa, believing that he's still a hotshot fighter pilot during the Battle of Britain, steals off to the Imperial War Museum and falls asleep in an old Spitfire. But the plot thickens considerably after Grandpa is sent to forbidding Twilight Towers (Caring for your unwanted old folk), a former lunatic asylum run by suspiciously hulking nurses. What to do? Help his grandpa round up all the resident seniors and engineer a daring night escape, of course. Typographical high jinks add melodramatic notes to the narrative, Ross' many comical cartoon vignettes further lighten the overall tone, and along with filling out the supporting cast with clueless, inept adults, the author ultimately gives Grandpa and that Spitfire a grand send-off. A pleaser for fans of similar escapades engineered by the likes of Roald Dahl or Frank Cottrell-Boyce. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Walliams, already popular in the UK, is a best-seller this side of the pond as well, and this caper promises to be no different.--Peters, John Copyright 2016 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

It's 1983, but Jack's grandfather, whose memory is failing, believes that the year is 1940, when he was a decorated RAF pilot serving in WWII. Unlike his worried parents, 12-year-old Jack views the workings of Grandpa's mind as "nothing short of magical," is spellbound by the man's wartime tales, and eagerly plays "Squadron Leader" to Grandpa's "Wing Commander" as they outwit enemy aircraft from their armchair cockpits. Knowing that "You had to enter Grandpa's world to get through to him," Jack uses military lingo to talk his grandfather down from a church spire, remove him from a museum's fighter plane, and help him escape the nightmarish Twilight Towers home for the elderly (motto: "Caring for your unwanted old folk"). Ross's energetic drawings and some playful use of typography bring additional drama and humor to the story. As in Walliams's Demon Dentist, the adult characters are of the bumbling sort-such as Miss Swine, the diabolical matron of Twilight Towers, and a pair of detectives, Beef and Bone-and the story's comedy is nicely counterbalanced by the poignant bond between Jack and Grandpa. Ages 8-12. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-6-Twelve-year-old Jack loves to spend time with his grandfather, who regales him with stories of his daring feats as a British Royal Air Force pilot during World War II. Lately, though, Grandpa has been more and more confused, getting into scrapes because he believes that he is still battling the Nazis. After one particularly dangerous escapade involving an antique plane at the Imperial War Museum, Jack's parents decide to send Grandpa to live at Twilight Towers, the town's new nursing home. When Jack goes to visit his grandfather, he discovers that Twilight Towers is run by some unsavory characters who are drugging the residents and rewriting their wills. Grandpa, understandably, thinks that he is being held in a prison camp, and he hatches a plan to break all of the residents out of the home. After one final adventure as the gentleman's sidekick, Jack must say good-bye to his grandfather, comforted by the amazing memories of their time together. Filled with hyperbolic characters, wild exploits, and zany visual elements, this volume is clearly influenced by Roald Dahl and Quentin Blake. Walliams and Ross revel in impudence and absurdity, and they do not shy away from sinister characters performing nefarious deeds. While the irreverent wit will keep readers engaged, the surprising tenderness in the relationship between Jack and his ailing grandfather is what makes this book truly shine. VERDICT A darkly humorous tale with a surprising amount of heart. This British import is a solid addition to medium to large middle grade collections.-Sarah Reid, Four County Library System, NY © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.