Cover image for The mother's promise
Title:
The mother's promise
Author:
Hepworth, Sally, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
[Large print ed.]
Publication Information:
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, A part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2017.

©2017
Physical Description:
501 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
Summary:
Sally Hepworth novels are Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up. Library Journal (starred review) All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter Zoe have been a family of two, living quietly in northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works until it doesn t. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life. Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers, but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the darkest moments, The Mother s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters, and the new ways in which families are forged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781410497383
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print - Floating collection Floating Collection - Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A Bestselling AuthorKnown for her searing emotional portraits of families, Sally Hepworth delivers her most powerful novel yet: the story of a single mother who is dying, the troubled teenaged daughter who is battling her own demons, and the two women who come into their lives at the most critical moment.


Author Notes

Sally Hepworth is a writer living in Australia. She started out working in Human Resources and event management. She started writing her first book, Love Like the French, while on maternity leave with her first child. The book tells the story of a British woman who goes to France after an accident leaves her husband in a coma. The character goes to France to see what the French could teach her about living. Her other titles include: The Secrets of Midwives, The Things We Keep, The Mother's Promise, The Family Next Door, and The Mother-in-Law.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Readers should get ready for a good, ugly cry after reading Hepworth's latest (after The Things We Keep, 2015). Alice's cancer diagnosis sends her into a panic, not because of her uncertain prognosis but because her 15-year-old daughter, Zoe, has a paralyzing social-anxiety disorder that makes her dependent on Alice. With no father in the picture, Zoe will be stranded if Alice isn't there to care for her. Alice can't even bring herself to tell Zoe she's sick. Kate, Alice's nurse, and Sonja, a social worker from the hospital, want to help, but they're keeping secrets of their own, and only when everyone's secrets are revealed will they be able to help one another. Part tearjerker, part celebration of mothers, this story tugs at the heartstrings, guaranteeing that readers will smile through the tears. Narration by all four women contributes to the character development, yet Hepworth keeps up a quick pace that turns the story into a page-turner. All the pieces masterfully come together at the end to create a beautiful novel of courage and love in the face of sorrow.--Babiasz, Tracy Copyright 2016 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Single mother Alice Stanhope has always understood the fears of her daughter; when Zoe's schoolmates make fun of her, Alice is there. At 15, Zoe tries to face her social anxiety disorder but crumbles when her best friend asks her to double date and she's unable to face the group at the movie theater. Then, Alice is diagnosed with stage three ovarian cancer and realizes she is entirely alone except for her relationship with Zoe. Two strangers, Kate and Sonja, step up and help. Hospital nurse Kate is desperate to have a baby. Social worker Sonja's intervention causes a crisis. Although needy themselves, these two women may be Alice's only answer to protecting Zoe. Hepworth's (The Things We Keep) latest is a difficult novel of women struggling with fear and loss. As Alice battles cancer and struggles with possibly breaking a promise always to be there for her daughter, the various characters also deal with miscarriages and loss, marriage difficulties, rape, spousal abuse, and Crohn's disease. VERDICT This bittersweet, emotionally intense novel is recommended for readers who appreciate issue-driven stories by Jodi -Picoult and Lisa Genova. [See Prepub Alert, 8/22/16.]-Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.