Cover image for The trap
Title:
The trap
Author:
Raabe, Melanie, 1981-
Personal Author:
Uniform Title:
Falle. English
Edition:
Unabridged.
Publication Information:
New York : Hachette Audio, 2016.
Physical Description:
9 audio discs (600 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Summary:
A reclusive author sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer. But is he really the killer? For eleven years, the bestselling author Linda Conrads has mystified fans by never setting foot outside her home. Haunted by the unsolved murder of her younger sister, who she discovered in a pool of blood, and the face of the man she saw fleeing the scene, Linda's hermit existence helps her cope with debilitating anxiety. But the sanctity of her oasis is shattered when she sees her sister's murderer on television. Hobbled by years of isolation, Linda resolves to use the plot of her next novel to lay an irresistible trap for the man.
General Note:
Title from web page.

Compact discs.
Language:
English
Added Author:
ISBN:
9781478935032
Format :
Audiobook on CD

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION CD Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Now in paperback, the twisted debut thriller about a reclusive author who sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer--but is he really the killer?

The renowned author Linda Conrads is famous for more than just her bestselling novels. For over eleven years, she has mystified fans by never setting foot outside her home. Far-fetched, sometimes sinister rumors surround the shut-in writer, but they pale in comparison to the chilling truth: Linda is haunted by the unsolved murder of her younger sister, whom she discovered in a pool of blood twelve years ago, and by the face of the man she saw fleeing the scene.

Now plagued by panic attacks, Linda copes with debilitating anxiety by secluding herself in her house, her last safe haven. But the sanctity of this refuge is shattered when her sister's murderer appears again--this time on her television screen. Empowered with sudden knowledge but hobbled by years of isolation, Linda resolves to use her only means of communication with the outside world--the plot of her next novel--to lay an irresistible trap for the man.

But as the plan is set in motion and the past comes rushing back, Linda's memories of that traumatic night--and her very sanity--are called into question. Is this man really a heartless killer or merely a helpless victim?


Author Notes

Melanie Raabe was born in 1981 and grew up in a small village in former East Germany. After studying media and literature, she went on to become a magazine editor, freelance journalist, writer, and stage actor. While juggling several jobs by day, she wrote at night, crafting two plays and THE TRAP, which is her debut novel. Melanie Raabe currently lives in Cologne and loves the stage, traveling, cooking, bungee jumping, tattoos, indie rock, and cats.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Suffering from depression, anxiety, hallucinations, and panic attacks, Linda Conrads is agoraphobic and hasn't left her home since her sister was murdered 11 years earlier. Linda discovered the body, caught a glimpse of the murderer as he left the apartment, and has been haunted by the scene ever since. Fortunately, Linda is a very successful novelist, so she has the means to live her life isolated on a luxurious estate. Her only links to the outside world are her editor, her part-time assistant, and television. She is watching the news when she suddenly realizes the reporter, Victor Lenzen, is her sister's murderer. She decides to set a trap; she writes a thriller utilizing all the details of her sister's murder, then arranges for her first interview in 12 years with Victor. Linda hopes to maneuver him into a confession, but her careful plan goes horribly awry. A fast, twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.--Alesi, Stacy Copyright 2016 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Linda Conrads, the narrator of German author Raabe's suspenseful if flawed first novel, hasn't left her home near Munich in the 11 years since the stabbing murder of her sister, Anna. She actually caught a glimpse of a man leaving the crime scene, and when she sees journalist Victor Lenzen on TV, she's certain that he's the man who killed Anna. Linda, who's a celebrity author, begins to plan a trap that involves a new novel based on the murder. Interviews with her are in high demand, so she arranges for Victor to interview her, but as Linda and Victor engage in cat-and-mouse exchanges, she often second-guesses herself. Victor seems to be exactly who he claims to be: a successful journalist who's certainly no killer. Excerpts from Linda's novel give insight into the events leading up to the crime. The tension rises, but the final revelation is a letdown that diminishes the otherwise taut storytelling. Agent: David Forrer, Inkwell Management. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

A reclusive and agoraphobic best-selling author, Linda Conrads sees a picture of the individual she has been searching for years to find-the man she saw leaving the scene of her sister's murder. She sets a complex trap to get a confession out of the man, resolving to use the plot of her next novel to lay an irresistible trap for him. With events from Linda's past and present interspersed with the novel inside this novel, listeners must pay close attention-the end is worth the wait. Julie Teal's heart-wrenching performance is simply magnificent. VERDICT This emotional roller coaster will appeal to listeners who enjoy character-driven suspense, especially those who relish the concept of a book within a book.-Scott R. DiMarco, Mansfield Univ. of Pennsylvania © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.