Cover image for Brighton
Title:
Brighton
Author:
Harvey, Michael T., author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2016]

©2016
Physical Description:
357 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
Nearly three decades after his best friend takes the fall for a heinous act of violence they both committed, Kevin Pearce, now a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, reports on a string of murders in which his friend has been declared a prime suspect.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062442970
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction On Display
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"The f**king bomb! I loved it." --Stephen King

"I couldn't stop reading." --John Grisham

A gritty and suspenseful Boston thriller for fans of Dennis Lehane and The Departed

An extraordinary thriller--gripping, haunting, and marvelously told--about two friends growing up in a rapidly changing Boston, who must face the sins of their past in the midst of a series of brutal murders.

"You came back here to bury your past. . . . Thing is, you gotta kill it first."

Kevin Pearce--baseball star, honor student, the pride of Brighton--was fifteen when he left town in the back of his uncle's cab. He and his buddy Bobby Scales had just committed heinous violence for what they thought were the best of reasons. Kevin didn't want a pass, but he was getting it anyway. Bobby would stay and face the music; Kevin's future would remain bright as ever. At least that was the way things were supposed to work, except in Brighton things never work the way they're supposed to.

Twenty-six years later, Kevin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist for the Boston Globe. He's never been back to his old block, having avoided his family and, especially, Bobby Scales. Then he learns his old friend is the prime suspect in a string of local murders. Suddenly, Kevin's headed home--to protect a friend and the secret they share. To report this story to the end and protect those he loves, he must face not only an elusive, slippery killer, but his own corrupted conscience.

A powerhouse of a thriller, Brighton is a riveting and elegiac exploration of promises broken, debts owed, and old wrongs made right . . . no matter what the cost.


Author Notes

Michael Harvey is a writer, journalist, and documentary producer. He is the co-creator, writer and executive producer of the Prime Time Emmy-nominated television series Cold Case Files¿ and a former investigative producer for CBS in Chicago.

Harvey's work has won numerous national and international awards, including multiple Emmys and an Academy Award nomination for the Holocaust documentary Eyewitness.

Michael's novels include The Innocence Game, We All Fall Down, The Third Rail, The Fifth Floor, The Chicago Way, and The Governor's Wife.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Despite Thomas Wolfe's admonition against going home again, Kevin Pearce decides to do just that. He left Boston's Brighton neighborhood at 15 on the run from a crime he committed with his friend Bobby Scales and never went back. Twenty-six years later, Bobby, who stayed behind, has become a seasoned criminal. Kevin is a Pulitzer-winning journalist. He decides to revisit Brighton and is drawn into a string of local murders when Bobby is named the prime suspect. What follows is a masterful piece of crime fiction with a gritty atmosphere, extraordinary characters, and several stunning twists. The tension is there at the start, but the action takes a while to get going after an extensive opening narrative about Kevin's childhood; in fact, the very beginning might have been better placed later in the story. Harvey's six previous novels were set in Chicago, but Boston is his hometown and he renders it in minute detail. Strongly recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane and readers looking for something like Peter May.--Murphy, Jane Copyright 2016 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

This gritty standalone from Harvey (The Innocence Game) focuses on two childhood friends who have gone in dramatically different directions as adults. Kevin Pearce starts life as an intelligent young man born into poverty and a brutal home life in 1970s Brighton, a hard-bitten section of Boston. Kevin's best friend, Bobby Scales, is a violent urban Huck Finn who's also capable and loyal. After Kevin's grandmother is murdered in a grisly home invasion, Kevin and Bobby ambush and slay the killer. Twenty-seven years later, Kevin, now a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, discovers that the gun Bobby used to shoot his grandmother's killer is the same gun used in the recent murder of an undercover policewoman. Kevin searches for the connection, which reunites him with Bobby, now a tough Brighton bookie. Harvey crisply evokes the dark side of the Boston urban underclass inhabiting a fractured neighborhood in a constant state of casual violence and brutality. An intense, twist-filled climax caps the unremittingly gloomy but moving story. Agent: David Gernert, Gernert Company. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

After a series of novels featuring Chicago-based private investigator Michael Kelly (most recently The Governor's Wife), Harvey sets this riveting stand-alone in his native Boston. Reporter Kevin Pearce, who has just won a Pulitzer Prize with the Boston Globe, returns to his hometown of Brighton for the first time since a teenage act of violence forced him to flee. In 1975, he and his friend Bobby Scales tracked down and killed a man Kevin saw running from the scene of a gruesome robbery that left his grandmother dead and his younger sister badly injured. Bobby took the heat and became the neighborhood's most feared bookie, allowing Kevin to embark on the path of career respectability. But a quarter-century later, Bobby is now the prime suspect in a rash of murders involving Brighton's seedy underworld, and Kevin will have to reckon with his long-buried past in a way that will test his allegiances-to his childhood friend, to his prosecutor girlfriend, and even to his sister, who is harboring secrets of her own. VERDICT Harvey's gritty tribute to the working-class neighborhoods of his youth is as authentically captured as the best of -Dennis Lehane. Fans of Martin Scorsese's film The Departed will love the violent twists and turns of the novel's final chapters.[See Prepub Alert, 12/21/15.]-Michael Pucci, South Orange P.L., NJ © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.