Cover image for Witch Wars
Title:
Witch Wars
Author:
Pounder, Sibéal, author.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Bloomsbury, 2016.
Physical Description:
265 pages : illustrations, map ; 21 cm
Summary:
"When Fran the Fabulous Fairy turns up in Tiga Whicabim's shed to tell her she's a witch, Tiga doesn't believe her. Or at least not until Fran points out that TIGA WHICABIM is actually an anagram of I AM A BIG WITCH and magics her away down the drainpipes to compete in Witch Wars - the competition to crown the next Top Witch of Ritzy City"--
Language:
English
Added Author:
ISBN:
9781619639256
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Bookmobile
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

When Fran the Fabulous Fairy turns up in Tiga Whicabim's shed to tell her she's a witch, Tiga doesn't believe her. Or at least not until Fran points out that TIGA WHICABIM is actually an anagram of I AM A BIG WITCH . . . and takes Tiga through the drainpipes to compete in a challenge to crown the next Top Witch of Ritzy City. No one expects a witch from 'above the pipes' to be a serious contender, but soon Tiga and her new best friend, Peggy Pigwiggle, are at the head of the pack! Does one ofthem have what it takes to win?

There will be spells. There will be shrunken heads. But most of all, there will be serious shoe envy. Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski's Whatever After series and filled with hilarious black-and-white illustrations, delectable dresses, and ridiculous riddles, Witch Wars is whimsical, magical fun!


Author Notes

Sibéal Pounder currently works for the Financial Times, where she researches for the How To Spend It section and writes the For Goodness' Sake column--interviewing everyone from Veronica Etro to Vivienne Westwood. She also writes for vogue.com and is a fashion trend forecaster. Witch Wars is her debut novel and its wonderful world is based on Dublin, her mother's city of birth and a place where Sibéal has spent lots of time.

@sibealpounder

Laura Ellen Anderson is a professional children's book author and illustrator (that is when she's not trying to take over the world or fighting sock-stealing monsters). She spends every waking hour creating and drawing and would quite like to live on the moon when humans finally make it possible.

www.lauraellenanderson.co.uk
@Lillustrator


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

When Tiga Whicabim follows Fran the Fabulous Fairy down a sink drain, she finds Ritzy City, part of a weird and wonderful witch world, where style-conscious women wear magnificent dresses and hats and enjoy the best bubbly drinks ever invented. It is there that the nine-year-old foundling learns she is a contestant on the TV-sponsored Witch Wars. The winner will become Top Witch, ruler of all of Sinkville. With friend and fellow competitor Peggy Pigwiggle, she travels around the country solving riddles and outlasting most of the competition. Only evil Felicity Bat remains. If Tiga doesn't emerge the winner, she will have to return to her horrid real-world guardian, Miss Heks, but it is the invariably thoughtful and helpful Peggy who really deserves the win. Pounder's entertaining first novel is packed with silliness, suspense, magic, and a surprising final turn. Humorous gray-scale cartoons add to the appeal. This series opener, first published in England, promises good fun for middle-graders, who will look forward to a promised sequel.--Isaacs, Kathleen Copyright 2015 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Tiga Whicabim doesn't know that she's a witch until she is nominated to compete in Witch Wars, a reality TV show where nine witches, all nine years old, compete to rule Sinkville, an enchanted land beneath the human world. After a fashion-forward fairy named Fran whisks Tiga down to a world she never knew existed, the young witch quickly falls in love with Ritzy City and the excitement of Sinkville. If she doesn't win Witch Wars, however, she'll be banished back to her awful life with the dreadful Miss Heks, playing with slugs and eating cheese water for every meal. With all the self-aware fun of reality TV-including riddles, races, and tabloid reports spotlighting the losers-debut author Pounder blends the particular, peculiar power of elimination competitions with the magic of fairies and witches, a winning combination. Anderson's b&w illustrations-part Edward Gorey, part fashion illustration-bring an appropriately eerie style to the story. Tiga's unlikely allies and quick thinking take her far, but Pounder leaves things just unsettled enough to pique interest in the next book in this planned series. Ages 8-12. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-6-Tiga Whicabim doesn't know she's a witch until Fran the fairy shows up in her tiny shed of a home, shows her that her name is an anagram for I AM A BIG WITCH, and takes her down the sink pipes to Ritzy City. There she discovers that witches' hats are only pointy due to the journey up the pipes to our world, that witches love jam, and that she is one of nine girls slated to battle it out in the Witch Wars. The winner of Witch Wars gets to rule Ritzy City as Top Witch, but the stakes are higher for Tiga. If she loses, she'll have to go back to her shed with her horrible caretaker, who feeds her only cheese water. Not to mention the fact that she doesn't know a single spell. She'll have to work hard to outsmart mean girl witches Felicity Bat and Aggie Hoof, but luckily her new friend Peggy vows to help. The young witches, along with the sassy little fairies, make for a colorful and unpredictable cast of characters. Whimsical black-and-white illustrations throughout help readers envision this fantastical locale. VERDICT Silliness, riddles, puns, and many magical mishaps make this a great choice to help fill the elusive "funny book" hole that exists in many collections.-Mandy Laferriere, Fowler Middle School, Frisco, TX © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.