Cover image for She's not there
Title:
She's not there
Author:
Fielding, Joy, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
[Large print ed.]
Publication Information:
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, 2016.

©2016
Physical Description:
551 (large print) ; 23 cm.
Summary:
"A lifetime ago, every year Carole Shipley looked forward to her wedding anniversary. But then a celebratory trip to Mexico for the occasion with her husband and friends ended in the unsolved kidnapping of her infant daughter, Samantha. Now, fifteen years after that horrific time, divorced and isolated, Carole is forced to relive the kidnapping by reporters who call every year on the anniversary of Samantha's disappearance. However, this year when the phone rings, Carole hears the sweet voice of a girl claiming to be her long-lost daughter. Plunged back into the world of heartbreak, suspicion and questions that led the case to run cold so many years ago, Carole doesn't know what or who to believe. But when she starts to figure it out, she finds the answers dangerously close to home"--
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781410486257
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print - Floating collection Floating Collection - Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Large Print
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A vanished child, a family in turmoil, and a fateful phone call that brings the torments of the past into the harrowing present . . . the "New York Times" bestselling author of "Someone Is Watching" weaves these spellbinding elements into a gripping novel of psychological suspense a must-read for fans of Laura Lippman and Mary Higgins Clark.
" I think my real name is Samantha. I think I m your daughter. "
Carole Shipley s heart nearly stops when she hears those words from the voice on the other end of the phone. Instantly, she s thrust fifteen years into the past, to a posh resort in Baja, Mexico and the fateful night her world collapsed.
The trip is supposed to be a celebration. Carole s husband, Hunter, convinces her to leave their two young daughters, Michelle and Samantha, alone in their hotel suite while the couple enjoys an anniversary dinner in the restaurant downstairs. But returning afterward, Carole and Hunter make a horrifying discovery: Two-year-old Samantha has vanished without a trace.
What follows are days, weeks, and years of anguish for Carole. She s tormented by media attention that has branded her a cold, incompetent mother, while she struggles to save her marriage. Carole also has to deal with the demands of her needy elder daughter, Michelle, who is driven to cope in dangerous ways. Through it all, Carole desperately clings to the hope that Samantha will someday be found only to be stung again and again by cruel reality.
Plunged back into the still-raw heartbreak of her daughter s disappearance, and the suspicions and inconsistencies surrounding a case long gone cold, Carole doesn t know whom or what to believe. The only thing she can be sure of is that someone is fiercely determined to hide the truth of what happened to Samantha.
Praise for Joy Fielding s "Someone Is Watching"
"Someone Is Watching" gripped me from the first to the very last page. Bailey Carpenter is a heroine who s both victim and warrior woman, a fascinating sleuth who will linger with you long after you ve finished this thrilling read. Tess Gerritsen
Fielding pens a spiraling tale of paranoia and suspense, as sultry as a Miami night. Jenny Milchman
An edge-of-your-seat read . . . With Fielding s patented blend of complex characters and escalating suspense, she is in top form here. Karen Robards
Engrossing . . . The characters pulsate with life. "Publishers Weekly" (starred review)
A gripping, fast-paced psychological thriller . . . Fielding s story of one woman s search for justice, understanding, and internal peace is nothing short of arresting. "Booklist "(starred review)"


Author Notes

Author and actress Joy Fielding was born in Canada in 1945. She received a BA in English literature from the University of Toronto in 1966. While a student, she focused on acting and was one of four stars in a student movie, Winter Kept Us Warm. After graduation, she moved to Los Angeles and appeared on Gunsmoke.

Her first book, The Best of Friends, was published without an agent. She has written numerous novels since then including Don't Cry Now, The Deep End, The Other Woman, Missing Pieces and Now You See Her. The Periodical Distributors of Canada named her book, Kiss Mommy Goodbye, Book of the Year for 1982. She has contributed book reviews to the Toronto Globe and Mail, CBC's The Radio Show, and CBC-TV's The Journal's Friday Night. Her books, See Jane Run and Tell Me No Secrets, have been adapted into films.

(Bowker Author Biography) Joy Fielding is the world-renowned bestselling author of Missing Pieces, Don't Cry Now, Tell Me No Secrets, See Jane Run, God Intentions, The Deep End, Life Penalty, The Other Woman, Kiss Mommy Goodbye, Trance, The Transformation, and The Best of Friends.

She divides her time between Toronto and Palm Beach.

(Bowker Author Biography)