Cover image for A noble cause : American battlefield victories in Vietnam
Title:
A noble cause : American battlefield victories in Vietnam
Author:
Niles, Douglas.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Berkley Caliber, 2015.

©2015
Physical Description:
xvi, 318 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
Summary:
"In the tradition of We Were Soldiers Once...and Young, A Noble Cause is a stirring tribute to the valor and courage of the allied forces in the Vietnam War and a vivid re-creation of hard-won battles from Ia Drang Valley to Khe Sanh and Hamburger Hill... Celebrating the skill and bravery of the United States armed forces and their South Vietnamese allies, A Noble Cause presents a gripping chronicle of both large and small unit successful combat engagements, including the Battle of Dong Xoai (1965); the Battle of Ia Drang Valley (1965), the first major ground battle of the Vietnam War; the Battle of Loc Ninh (1967) by the Cambodian border; the Battle of Khe Sanh (1967-1968) leading up to the Tet Offensive; the Battle of Dong Ha (1968); the bloody siege on Hamburger Hill (1969); and the Battle of An Loc (1972), sixty-five miles north of Saigon, which contributed to the failure of the Vietcong's Eastertide Offensive. Documenting the invaluable role of a tireless and determined infantry as well as air cavalry divisions and B-52 'Arc Light' air strikes, A Noble Cause chronicles the crucial strategic decisions that led to victory--often against steep odds--and honors the bravery of every soldier who stood his ground, faced the enemy, and gave his all. Includes photos and and maps"--
Language:
English
Contents:
ONE: First to Fight : Operation Starlite and the United States Marines -- TWO: Air Mobility Comes of Age : The Ia Drang Campaign and the 1st Cavalry Division (Airmobile) -- THREE: Hammer the Ambush : The Big Red One at Srok Dong and Minh Thanh Road -- FOUR: Turning Defeat into Victory : Operation Attleboro Blocks the Road to Saigon -- FIVE: Cooling Off an Insurgent Hotbed : Operation Cedar Falls and the Iron Triangle -- SIX: Playing Horseshoes with Charlie : Operation Junction City Hits War Zone C -- SEVEN: Making a Statement : The USMC Stakes a Claim to the Que Son Valley -- EIGHT: A Hard and Bloody Ground : The USMC and the First Battles of Khe Sanh -- NINE: Allies Stand Together : South Vietnam and the United States Hold Firm at Loc Ninh -- TEN: In the Shadow of Dien Bien Phu : The Siege of Khe Sanh Combat Base -- ELEVEN: Tet Offensive 1968 : Could the Viet Cong Win by Losing? -- TWELVE: Push from the North : Nine Hundred Marines Stop 6,000 NVA at Dong Ha -- THIRTEEN: Breaking Point : The Screaming Eagles Pay for Hamburger Hill -- FOURTEEN: A Firm Stand : The South Vietnamese Turn Back an Eastertide Invasion at An Loc.
ISBN:
9780425278345
Format :
Book