Cover image for Carry on : the rise and fall of Simon Snow
Title:
Carry on : the rise and fall of Simon Snow
Author:
Rowell, Rainbow, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Publication Information:
New York : St. Martin's Griffin, 2015.

©2015
Physical Description:
522 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Summary:
Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who's ever been chosen. That's what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he's probably right. Half the time, Simon can't even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor's avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there's a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon's face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here. It's their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon's infuriating nemesis didn't even bother to show up.
General Note:
Companion to: Fangirl (2013).
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250049551
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Teen
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Fantasy
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Fantasy
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

#1 New York Times best seller!

Booklist Editors' Choice 2015 - Youth!

Named a "Best Book of 2015" by Time Magazine, School Library Journal, Barnes & Noble, NPR, PopSugar, The Millions, and The News & Observer!

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who's ever been chosen.

That's what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git , but he's probably right.

Half the time, Simon can't even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor's avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there's a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon's face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here--it's their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon's infuriating nemesis didn't even bother to show up.

Carry On - The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you'd expect from a Rainbow Rowell story - but far, far more monsters.


Author Notes

Rainbow Rowell's adult debut, Attachments, was published in 2011. Her other books include Landline, Eleanor and Park, and Carry On. Fangirl won the Silver Inky Award in 2015.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 4

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* It's Simon Snow's last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and it's not going as planned. His magic, always unstable, has been even more unpredictable, which is bad news with the magical world's most infamous bad guy after him. His girlfriend is distant, and he's afraid he'll lose touch with his best friend after graduation. But most unsettling of all, Simon's frustrating, evil, pretty-sure-he's-a-vampire nemesis/roommate hasn't come back to school. Baz is probably just off plotting somewhere, but what if he's really in trouble? And why does Simon care so much, anyway? Rowell's debut fantasy was first alluded to in Fangirl (2013) as a Harry Potter-like phenomenon. The similarities are, at first, easy to spot, and this does lag a bit in comparison seven years of world-building don't easily fit into the first 150 pages. But things accelerate once Baz hits the stage, quickly taking on new life and heart. Rowell has created a story that is as much a loving critique of the Chosen One narrative as it is an example of the genre. The romance, once it gets going, is irresistible and surprisingly tender, but the true strength here is the characterizations: sleek, tough-talking bad-boy Baz; beautiful but reluctant Agatha; clever and exuberant Penelope; and the brilliant, unhinged Mage, who leads the school, are all paid careful attention. And at the center of it all is Simon, the Chosen One himself, made special by circumstance and, like anyone, just trying to figure out a way to keep going. Stock up on copies this one begs to be reread. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Simon and Baz have been garnering attention since they first appeared in Fangirl, and buzz has been building for their feature-length debut. Add in Rowell's history of critical and commercial success, and you've got yourself a hit.--Reagan, Maggie Copyright 2015 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Rowell's novel (an offshoot of 2013's Fangirl), tells the story of Simon Snow, a Harry Potter-esque "Chosen One" trying to learn to use his magic at a wizarding school, and Baz, Simon's roommate and sworn enemy, who is secretly in love with Simon. Rowell's many fangirls and fanboys are sure to swoon over Morton's masterful and character-perfect narration: his voice for Baz is initially cool, sneering, and jaded, then raw and tortured when Baz finally breaks down, whereas Simon's voice is higher-pitched and endearingly awkward. The emotionally intense scenes between the two are especially impressive, as Morton switches effortlessly back and forth between these contrasting characters as they bicker and flirt. Ages 13-up. A St. Martin's Griffin hardcover. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

English-born orphan Simon Snow is the most hapless hero the World of Mages has ever seen. As the prophesied Chosen One, Simon finds his immense magical power is nearly out of his control at the best of times. Now in his final year at school, he is surrounded by mysteries: his own missing parents, his distant girlfriend, ghosts, and surviving the final showdown with the Insidious Humdrum. He also worries-obsessively, sleeplessly-about his missing roommate-and nemesis-Baz. Will Simon's life really begin, as he believes, after the happily ever after? And will life be worth living if Baz doesn't return? Verdict In a departure from her realistic young adult and adult novels (Fangirl; Eleanor and Park), Rowell delves into fantasy with this story, which was originally imagined as a plot device in Fangirl. Similar on the surface to J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series, the intricately plotted novel, with its multiple voices, makes for a rich fantasy worthy of its own canon. Rowell aficionados who fell for Simon and Baz will be clamoring for this coming-of-age novel. With crossover appeal, expect demand from teens and adults alike. And presenting a genuine LGBT romance, Rowell has another hit on her hands.-Jennifer Beach, Cumberland Cty. P.L., VA © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Simon Snow is back with his own story, after being introduced as a fanfiction hero in Rowell's Fangirl (St. Martin's Griffin, 2013). It's senior year at the Watford School of Magicks, but Simon's roommate/nemesis Baz is nowhere to be found, which disconcerts Simon more than he would have guessed. When Baz finally does turn up, Simon offers to help him find out who killed his mother, and an uneasy truce is developed among the two boys and Simon's best friend, Penny. The group dynamics evolve as the teens fight for magic and for their lives. Scottish actor Euan Morton narrates and does a stunning job, especially with the complex characters of Simon and Baz. He reveals the heart of each character, portraying Simon as an uncertain magician, uncomfortable with his magical power yet trying to merit his title of "The Chosen One," while vampire Baz is occasionally cruel and always cool yet concealing a surprisingly emotional side. This audiobook is sure to please a wide range of listeners with its sweet romance, terrifying adventures, and inventive magical creations. Wonderful fantasy-type music begins and ends the listening experience. VERDICT An essential purchase for fans of Harry Potter and Rainbow Rowell, as well as lovers of fantasy. ["With rock-solid worldbuilding, a sweet and believable romance subplot, and satisfying ending, Rowell's latest is a monumentally enjoyable reading experience": SLJ 11/15 starred review of the St. Martin's Griffin book.]-Julie Paladino, formerly of East Chapel Hill High School, NC © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.