Cover image for The beat goes on : the complete Rebus stories
The beat goes on : the complete Rebus stories
Rankin, Ian, author.
Personal Author:
First United States Edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2015.
Physical Description:
vi, 468 pages ; 25 cm
"Brilliant, irascible and frequently frustrating to both his friends and his long-suffering bosses, John Rebus has made the dark places of Edinburgh his home for over two decades. THE BEAT GOES ON collects all of Ian Rankin's Rebus short stories for the first time, including two never-before published tales written specifically for this collection. From his beginnings as a young Detective Constable in "Dead and Buried, " right up to his dramatic, but not quite final, retirement in "The Very Last Drop, " Rebus shines in these stories, confirming his status as one of crime fiction's most compelling, brilliant, and unforgettable characters. In these gripping, fast-paced tales, the legendary Scottish detective investigates the sinister cases that are his specialty, including a gruesome student death, the brutal murder of a woman at the crux of a love triangle, an audacious jewel heist, suspicious happenings at a nursing home, and an ominous email that brings a family's darkest secrets to light" --
General Note:
"Originally publishished in Great Britain by Orion Publishing Group, Ltd., October 2014" -- title page verso.
Dead and buried -- Playback -- Dean curse -- Being Frank -- Concrete evidence -- Seeing things -- A good hanging -- Tit for tat -- Not Provan -- Sunday-- -- Auld lang syne -- Gentleman's club -- Monstrous trumpet -- My shopping day -- Talk show -- Trip trap -- Castle dangerous -- In the frame -- Facing the music -- Window of opportunity -- Death is not the end -- No sanity clause -- Tell me who to kill -- Saint Nicked -- Atonement -- Not just another Sunday -- Penalty Claus -- Passenger -- A three-pint problem -- Very last drop -- Cinders.
Format :