Cover image for Buckle and Squash : the perilous princess plot
Title:
Buckle and Squash : the perilous princess plot
Author:
Courtauld, Sarah., author.
Personal Author:
Uniform Title:
Buckle and Squash and the monstrous moat-dragon
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Feiwel and Friends, 2015.

©2014.
Physical Description:
186 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Summary:
This is the story of two very different sisters--Eliza, who longs to ride into battle against villains and dragons, and Lavender, who would give anything to be a pampered princess. Before the end of the story both of them have had a chance to fulfill their dreams, though not quite in the way they intended. Accompanied by their depressed goat, Gertrude, with their granny's warnings about the Black Death ringing in their ears, they head out into the forest and come face to face with an evil count who definitely does not have their best interests at heart.
General Note:
Originally published in the U.K. as Buckle and Squash and the monstrous moat-dragon, Macmillan Children's Books, 2014.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250052773
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

This funny fairy-tale adventure from debut author Sarah Courtald is the story of two very different sisters-Eliza, who longs to ride into battle against villains and dragons, and Lavender, who would give anything to be a pampered princess. Before the end of the story both of them have had a chance to fulfill their dreams, though not quite in the way they intended...

Accompanied by their depressed goat, Gertrude, with their granny's warnings about the Black Death ringing in their ears, they head out into the forest and come face to face with an evil count who definitely does not have their best interests at heart.

Buckle and Squash: The Perilous Princess Plot was the winner of the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award for Fiction Ages 5-9


Author Notes

Sarah Courtauld, the author of the BUCKLE AND SQUASH series, is a fresh and funny new voice in children's fiction. She won the Funny Women Comedy Writing Award in 2012 and the BAFTA/Rocliffe New Writing Forum 2012, judged by a panel including Jennifer Saunders and Chris Addison. She also does stand-up and improv, as well as working part-time as a writer for Usborne Children's Books.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

This mixed-up fairy tale has everything readers could want, including adventure, danger, and a cantankerous goat. Lavender wants to marry a prince, and the easiest way to meet one is to be rescued, so she sets off to put herself in mortal danger. Meanwhile, villain Mordmont decides the only way to solve his money problems is to hold a princess for ransom, and it's not long before Lavender is in his dungeon. When Lavender's sister, Eliza, discovers her missing, she has no choice but to saddle up the family goat and save her sister with nothing but her own cunning. Readers already familiar with common fairy-tale tropes will laugh at the wacky events that ensue. Black-and-white illustrations add to the fun, as does the narration, which gives the reader a behind-the-scenes look and creates several inside jokes. Just right for readers who like their princess stories with a large dose of humor.--Erickson, Tiffany Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Absurdity reigns in Courtauld's (On a Pirate Ship) boisterous, logic-warping fantasy, starring sisters Eliza and Lavender, who hail from a "village in the middle of nowhere, which was called the Middle of Nowhere." While Eliza wants to battle dragons, fairy tale-obsessed Lavender aspires to marry a prince; in one of the book's many hilarious moments, Courtauld offers scraggly pencil portraits of some of Lavender's favorite royal dreamboats, including Prince Chlknklkgkfj the Unpronounceable and Prince Kanye the Anachronistic. Lavender's quest to find her groom triggers a series of madcap incidents involving Mordmont, a villain scheming to kidnap and ransom a princess in order to pay his bills; when Mordmont's bumbling minions mistake Lavender for a royal and deliver her to him, she in turn mistakes Mordmont for a prince turned beast, à la Beauty and the Beast. In the course of rescuing her sister, Eliza does in fact best a dragon (of sorts), and Lavender finds a prince (of sorts). Abundant wordplay, sarcastic footnotes, and a slew of out-of-left-field jokes make this book ideal for fans of Dav Pilkey, Andy Griffiths, or Lois Lowry's The Willoughbys. Ages 7-10. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-5-This cross between a fractured fairy tale and any of Roald Dahl's zany adventures is the first installment in the "Buckle and Squash" series. The story centers on two sisters: level-headed Eliza and Lavender, a dreamer. They live with Grandma Maud; their parents died in an accident at a village festival and their Grandpa Joe went missing, both events having taken place before the start of the story. The girls live on a farm in the Middle of Nowhere and while Eliza toils away at their farm chores, Lavender reads fairytales and dreams of princes as she perfects her princess personality. One day, Lavender runs away in hopes of being rescued by a prince and sets off an adventure in which she is captured by a bankrupt bad guy and Eliza must rescue her sister given only a goat named Gertrude for a steed and a hat and a beard as magical tools for saving the day. This humorous tale is funny right down to the sentence level narration ("The next morning was bright and lovely. The birds sang. Dawn rose. Then she went back to bed. Luckily Dawn isn't part of this story. She didn't really get up to much."). Witty writing combined with a cast of characters that are as ridiculous as they are memorable-rendered in black-and-white drawings throughout-makes for a great series opener. VERDICT A fun read for chapter book and younger middle grade readers.-Samantha Lumetta, Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, OH (c) Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.