Cover image for Crimson bound
Title:
Crimson bound
Author:
Hodge, Rosamund.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2015]

©2015
Physical Description:
441 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
"Rachelle must protect the king's bastard son while searching for the weapons that will save her world from endless night"--

Apprenticed to her aunt, training to protect her village from dark magic, Rachelle strayed from the forest path in search of a way to free her world from the threat of eternal darkness. After an illicit meeting goes dreadfully wrong, Rachelle is forced to make a terrible choice that binds her to the very evil she had hoped to defeat. Three years later, when the king orders her to guard his son Armand, Rachelle forces him to help her hunt for the legendary sword that might save their world. As the two become unexpected allies, they discover far-reaching conspiracies, hidden magic... and a love that may be their undoing.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062224767
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Fantasy
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

An exhilarating tale of darkness, love, and redemption inspired by the classic fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood and the extravagant court of Versailles, from the author of Cruel Beauty. A doomed warrior and the king's most notorious bastard must join forces to defeat a dark evil in this gorgeously intricate fantasy--perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses.

When Rachelle was fifteen she was good--apprenticed to her aunt and in training to protect her village from dark magic. But she was also reckless--straying from the forest path in search of a way to free her world from the threat of eternal darkness. After an illicit meeting goes dreadfully wrong, Rachelle is forced to make a terrible choice that binds her to the very evil she had hoped to defeat.

Three years later, Rachelle has given her life to serving the realm, fighting deadly creatures in a vain effort to atone. When the king orders her to guard his son Armand--the man she hates most--Rachelle forces Armand to help her hunt for the legendary sword that might save their world. Together, they navigate the opulent world of the courtly elite, where beauty and power reign and no one can be trusted. And as the two become unexpected allies, they discover far-reaching conspiracies, hidden magic . . . and a love that may be their undoing. Within a palace built on unbelievable wealth and dangerous secrets, can Rachelle discover the truth and stop the fall of endless night?


Author Notes

Rosamund Hodge received a B.A. in English at the University of Dallas, and an M.St. in Medieval English at Oxford.

Hodge has loved writing all her life and in 2014 she got to publish her first novel with HarperCollins. She is the author of Cruel Beauty, Gilded Ashes: A Cruel Beauty Novella, Crimson Bound, and Bright Smoke, Cold Fire all published by HarperCollins.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

What happens if Red Riding Hood fails to heed her mother's warning and follows the wolf into the forest? In the kingdom of Gévaudan, the woods are full of forestborn, merciless immortal creatures who hunt humans, and once Rachelle steps off the path, she is marked as belonging to them and must kill or die. Wracked by guilt, she flees her small village and goes to work for the king, who keeps a squad of so-called bloodbound like Rachelle as security. Soon she is deeply enmeshed in palace intrigue and forestborn plotting, both of which center on Armand, the king's illegitimate son, and Erec, the sexy but faithless captain of the guard. Though Rachelle's inner monologue is often bogged down by repetitive moments of self-loathing and doubt, Hodge's writing occasionally glimmers with flashes of brilliance: the neckline bared her shoulders and her collarbones like a declaration of war. Plot twists and romance keep the pages turning in this grim and intricate take on the classic tale.--Willey, Paula Copyright 2010 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-With this romantic mash-up of classic fairy tales that touch on elements from the familiar "Little Red Riding Hood" and the lesser-known "Girl with No Hands," Hodge has created a chilled cocktail of creep and gore shaken, stirred lightly, and poured over villains who fall in love and heroines who commit murder. Featured in this delicate and skillfully written romantic horror is Rachelle Brinon, who has been trained by her aunt to serve as a woodwife. It's her responsibility to protect the village from the dark magic of the forest. While venturing into the forest, Rachelle is eventually tricked by a humanlike wolf creature, to whom she becomes bound to it by a thin crimson thread that only she can see. The connection is filled with passion and also gives her superhuman skills with the possibility of immortality. Now one of the king's assassins, Rachelle has many responsibilities and soon realizes that there are just as many dangers and threats within the kingdom as they are without. Loyalties are stretched when she's assigned the job of protecting Prince Armand, and a romantic triangle develops among Rachelle, the prince, and the captain of the bloodbounds. Teens will gladly join this quest to find out if there's a happy ever after in this intricate web of friendship, fear, loyalty, love, and hate. VERDICT With a thoroughly developed setting and so many shadowed nods to the Brothers Grimm, this novel will captivate readers. Outstanding.-Sabrina Carnesi, Crittenden Middle School, Newport News, VA (c) Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.