Cover image for In the field of grace
Title:
In the field of grace
Author:
Afshar, Tessa.
Personal Author:
Edition:
[Large print ed.]
Publication Information:
Thorndike, Maine : Center Point Large Print, [2014]

©2014.
Physical Description:
416 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
Summary:
After losing her husband, Ruth leaves her home to follow her beloved mother-in-law, Naomi, to Israel, where she lives a life of hardship until the wealthy and honored owner of the field where she works begins to show her favor.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781628991734
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print Christian
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Ruth leaves her home with a barren womb and an empty future, after losing her husband. She forsakes her abusive parents and follows the woman she has grown to love as a true parent, her husband's mother, Naomi.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Afshar (Pearl in the Sand) dramatizes the story of Ruth in her fourth novel of historical fiction. In fleshing out Ruth's character, Afshar portrays the young Moabite as a downtrodden sibling, mistreated by her sisters and a disappointment to her parents. Ruth's oppressive home life may diminish the sacrifice she later makes to follow her mother-in-law, Naomi, to Israel. Despite her devotion to Naomi, Ruth encounters rejection and indifference in Bethlehem. Naomi's grief renders her practically catatonic, and Ruth is left to provide in both matters of finances and faith. Boaz, a wealthy landowner and cousin of her father-in-law, finds Ruth gleaning in his fields, and the widower takes an immediate interest in her, bringing hope to the young widow's sad existence. Afshar does remain true to the basic premise of the biblical account. Yet her suppositions in the depiction of Ruth's backstory, and Boaz's gallant rescue of the damsel in distress, have more in common with the story of Cinderella than the story of the Bible. Agent: Wendy Lawton, Books & Such Literary Agency. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

This retelling of the biblical story of Ruth follows the young Moabite, newly widowed, childless, and without family, as she accompanies her mother-in-law, Naomi, to Israel. Life is hard as Ruth works long hours in the fields to keep both herself and Naomi from starving. Being an immigrant from Moab in Israel has its own challenges, and Ruth's faith in God's plan is tested severely many times. Finally, she is rewarded with the attention of Boaz, the owner of the field in which she works and one of the most respected men of -Judah. -VERDICT Afshar (Pearl in the Sand) evenly strikes a balance between the protagonist's faith in God and her own skills in surviving her trials. Fans of Bodie and Brock Thoene and Anita Diamant will enjoy this sumptuous historical saga that is also a stirring romance. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.