Cover image for Lost boy
Title:
Lost boy
Author:
Green, Tim, 1963- , author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]
Physical Description:
299 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
After a near-fatal car accident, twelve-year-old Ryder's mother needs an operation they cannot afford and while a new friend tries to raise funds, Ryder travels with a grouchy, disabled neighbor, from Yankee Stadium to Turner Field seeking the major league baseball player who might be Ryder's father.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
730 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 4.6 9.0 172587.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 4.5 16 Quiz: 65741.
ISBN:
9780062317087

9780062317094
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Bookmobile
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From New York Times bestselling author Tim Green comes a captivating baseball story about one brave boy's search for a miracle. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica.

Ever since Ryder could remember, it's always been just Ryder and his mom. But in one day, everything changes. Ryder's mom is in the hospital fighting for her life after being struck by a truck while crossing the street. When he learns that his mom will need an expensive operation to survive, he steps up to the plate.

Ryder finds in his mother's closet a letter and a baseball signed by a Major League Baseball player, and he's sure the signature is his father's. So with this clue and the help of his next door neighbor and a New York City firefighter, Ryder goes on an epic quest to find his father and get the support he needs to save his mom. But will everything fall into place in time, or will Ryder become a lost boy forever?


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

In a tale that is tense and scary right up until its improbably happy ending, 12-year-old Ryder is suddenly left on his own when his mother lands in the ICU. Circumstances dictate he must contact the father he has never known. Fortunately, he gets both immediate and longer-term help from a compassionate New York City firefighter and an embittered ex-reporter immobilized with a degenerative disease. Unfortunately, his dad turns out to be a major league pitcher with a wife and family. After his mom is given only days to live unless she has a very expensive operation, the pressure is on to find a way to come face-to-face with the man and then convince him to help. Green sends his painfully shy but courageous protagonist through realistically vicious emotional rapids as well as less realistic but suspenseful efforts to sneak into baseball clubhouses in both New York and Atlanta. Neither these ploys nor the eventual confrontation go well, but help comes just as all seems lost, and everyone's fortunes even those of the reporter and the firefighter turn bright. Ryder's fear and despair are sharply felt, and readers who prefer stories with uncomplicated resolutions will be pleased by the prolific Green's latest outing.--Peters, John Copyright 2015 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 6-9-Twelve-year-old Ryder lives with his mom, Ruby, in Manhattan. They have no family or friends except for their across-the-hall neighbor, Stephen Starr, who is homebound in a wheelchair. Ruby works hard cleaning hotel rooms, and Ryder has the best batting average in Little League. One day after a game, Ryder has a minor spat with Ruby, and in a freak accident, she falls off the curb directly into the path of large truck. She is rushed to a nearby hospital where doctors sadly predict that she will not survive given that her injuries have exacerbated an underlying heart condition. Ryder is alone with nowhere to go until Doyle McDonald, the fireman who was at the scene of the accident, feels sorry for the petrified boy and volunteers to find someone to care for him. That someone ends up being the grouchy Mr. Starr who can barely take care of himself. United by a desire to raise money for his mother's operation, Doyle, Mr. Starr, and Ryder devise a scheme to reunite Ryder with Travis Trent, a professional baseball player who may be his father. The quest is a rough one, taking Ryder from the belly of Yankee Stadium to a long journey with Mr. Starr to Turner Field in Atlanta, where they fail in repeated attempts to reach Travis Trent. Can they get to him in time to save Ryder's mother? The plot moves along swiftly with short chapters ending in cliffhanger sentences that nudge the reader to the next adventure. Green, a former linebacker and sports commentator, gives readers a behind-the-scenes view of professional playing fields. Ryder and Mr. Starr are the best developed characters in the story, and that's all young sports enthusiasts will need to root for this unlikely team who defy defeat and keep on trying no matter what the odds.-Anne Jung-Mathews, Plymouth State University, NH (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.