Cover image for The Penderwicks in spring
Title:
The Penderwicks in spring
Author:
Birdsall, Jeanne, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2015]
Physical Description:
339 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
As spring arrives on Gardam Street, there are surprises in store for each Penderwick, from neighbor Nick Geiger's expected return from the war to Batty's new dog-walking business, but her plans to use her profits to surprise her family on her eleventh birthday go astray.
General Note:
Sequel to: The Penderwicks at Point Mouette.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
880 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.5 12.0 173367.

Reading Counts RC 3-5 5.7 16 Quiz: 65805.
ISBN:
9780375870774

9780375970771
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and  New York Times  bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.
 
Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.
 
Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty's new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.
 
Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.


Author Notes

Jeanne Birdsall was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in 1951. Before becoming a children's author, she worked as a photographer. Some of her photographs are included in the permanent collections of museums, including the Smithsonian and the Philadelphia Art Museum. She didn't start writing until she was forty-one years old. Her first book, The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy, was published in 2005. Her novels about the Penderwick family have collected several honors, including the National Book Award for Young People's Literature. She also writes picture books for younger children.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Welcome back, Penderwicks! And also welcome back all those in the Penderwicks' circle, including honorary brother Jeffrey (messing with the family dynamics by having fallen for Skye); Nick, on leave from fighting overseas and as idolized by the kids as ever; assorted friends and neighbors; a couple of dogs; and a new music teacher. It's the latter who makes a surprising impact on 10-year-old Batty's life, telling her that she has a rare and beautiful voice. And it is with utter shock that Batty realizes she does indeed. But she doesn't want her family to know until she talks with Jeffrey, her musical mentor. But Jeffrey's crush and a devastating family secret overheard by Batty mix everything up and keep Batty silent in several different ways. Besides being chock-full of all the qualities fans love (humor, heart, and the honest exploration of emotions), the compelling story line examines the guilt that Batty feels over both the death of her mother and her inability to keep the family dog, Hound, alive and it does so in touching ways. Batty is the narrator most of the time, but younger Ben takes over on occasion, and 2-year-old Lydia is an eccentric presence. The Penderwicks have a strong bench, so, happily, expect more. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: The first Penderwicks book won the National Book Award, the quality of the stories remains high, and fans remain legion. They'll be waiting for this one.--Cooper, Ilene Copyright 2015 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

With the addition of baby sister Lydia, the Penderwicks' blended family returns with all the big-family drama and joys that fans have come to expect. In this fourth installment, musically inclined fifth-grader Batty is delighted to learn that her school's dull music teacher has been replaced by the more appealing Mrs. Grunfeld; better still, the new teacher thinks Batty has a "rare and beautiful" voice. Inspired, Batty earns money for singing lessons by walking two unusual neighborhood dogs, a job that makes her yearn for her own, recently deceased dog. After overhearing a family secret, she starts to believe that she was responsible for the death of her mother, who passed away when Batty was a baby. It takes a lot of detective work from her older sisters, parents, and neighbors to figure out why Batty is so blue, but in true Penderwick fashion, misunderstandings are soon righted. The warmth and compassion of the Penderwick family comes through in every page of this slice-of-life novel, healing emotional bruises and reassuring readers that most problems can be overcome. Ages 8-12. Agent: Barbara S. Kouts. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-7-The Penderwick family is back in the fourth book of Birdsall's popular series. With the addition of younger sister Lydia and the recent death of beloved dog Hound, the cast of characters has changed a bit. Though told from the perspectives of Batty and Ben-the younger brother added to the clan in The Penderwicks on Gardam Street (Knopf, 2008)-this is truly Batty's story. Rosalind is in college, and Skye and Jane are both in high school. In this volume, Batty discovers that she has a talent for singing, which she keeps a secret from the rest of her family so that she can plan a Grand Birthday Concert. Jeffrey, their family friend, will be visiting for Skye's birthday, and Batty wants to ask him to be her mentore. She also takes on a job walking dogs to pay for voice lessons. She's conflicted about this because she believes that it was her fault that Hound died and she doesn't want to "curse" any more dogs. Fans of the series may find the time jump jarring-Batty, who was only four during the first book, is now 10-and the lack of OPS (Older Penderwick Sisters) dismaying. Throughout the series, Birdsall has demonstrated considerable skill at crafting a modern classic, merging modern-day wit with an old-fashioned charm. Birdsall is a master at making the everyday exciting. VERDICT This latest addition to the beloved series ends on a satisfying note, and readers will eagerly await the final book.-Jessica Ko, Los Angeles Public Library (c) Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.