Cover image for Paperboy
Title:
Paperboy
Author:
Vawter, Vince, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
Unabridged.
Publication Information:
New York : Random House/Listening Library, [2013]
Physical Description:
5 audio discs (370 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Summary:
An 11-year-old boy living in Memphis in 1959 throws the meanest fastball in town, but talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering, not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he knows he'll be forced to communicate with the different customers, including a housewife who drinks too much and a retired merchant marine who seems to know just about everything.
General Note:
Duration: 6:10:00.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
3-6.

009-014.

940 Lexile.
Program Information:
Reading Counts RC 3-5 7.3 14 Quiz: 60674.
ISBN:
9780804167956

9780553397055
Format :
Audiobook on CD

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION CD Juvenile Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION CD Juvenile Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION CD Juvenile Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION CD Juvenile Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." -- Booklist, Starred

"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it " --ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again

This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King's Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.

Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering--not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life.

A Newbery Honor Award Winner
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book
An IRA Children's and Young Adults' Choice
An IRA Teachers' Choice
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year
A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book
A BookPage Best Children's Book
An ABC New Voices Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Recording
An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook
A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection

" Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic , with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" -- The Washington Post

" Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story ." --Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America

* " A] tense, memorable story." -- Publishers Weekly, Starred

"An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." -- School Library Journal


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* It's hot in Memphis during the summer of 1959 in all kinds of ways. Things heat up for the book's 11-year-old narrator when he takes over his pal Rat's paper route; meeting new people is a horror for the boy because he stutters. He only really feels comfortable with Rat and Mam, the African American maid who takes care of him when his parents are away, which is often. But being the paperboy forces him to engage in the world and to ask for payments from customers, like pretty, hard-drinking Mrs. Worthington and Mr. Spiro, who gives the boy the confidence to voice his questions and then offers answers that wondrously elicit more questions. Others intrude on his life as well. In a shocking scene, Ara T, the dangerous, disturbing junk man tries to take something precious from the boy. In some ways, the story is a set piece, albeit a very good one: the well-crafted characters, hot Southern summer, and coming-of-age events are reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird. But this has added dimension in the way it brilliantly gets readers inside the head of a boy who stutters. First-time author Vawter has lived this story, so he is able to write movingly about what it's like to have words exploding in your head with no reasonable exit. This paperboy is a fighter, and his hope fortifies and satisfies in equal measure.--Cooper, Ilene Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

The name of debut novelist Vawter's 11-year-old protagonist, Vincent Vollmer III, doesn't appear until the very end of this tense, memorable story-Vincent's stutter prevents him from pronouncing it. Vincent is an excellent listener and a keen observer, and the summer of 1959 presents him with the challenge of taking over a friend's paper route in segregated Memphis. He engages with several neighborhood customers and characters while on the job, gaining new awareness of varied adult worlds, racial tension, and inequality, as well as getting into some dangerous situations. Vawter draws from his own childhood experience at a time "when modern speech therapy techniques were in their infancy," he writes in an endnote, calling the story "more memoir than fiction." The story unfolds as Vincent's typewritten account of the summer, and inventive syntax is used throughout. Commas and quotation marks are verboten-Vincent isn't a fan of the former, since he has enough extra pauses in his life already-and extra spaces appear between paragraphs, all subtly highlighting his uneasy relationship with the spoken word. Ages 10-up. Agent: Anna Olswanger, Liza Dawson Associates. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 6-9-Set in Memphis in the late 1950s, this tale focuses on 11-year-old Victor, who has stuttered for as long as he can remember. He volunteers to cover his friend Arthur's paper route while he is away on summer vacation. Victor knows he will be good at throwing the paper. After all, he has the best fastball in town-but he isn't so sure he will be good at collecting the money. Collecting means talking to people and that's not Victor's strong point. At first he's terrified of collection day, but throughout Vawter's novel (Delacorte) he grows to enjoy his weekly chats as the customers along his route turn out to be influential characters in his life. It is through his interactions with them that he learns to work through his stutter rather than live in fear of it. Lincoln Hoppe is a talented voice artist and masters both a stutter and a Southern accent. An excellent choice for school and public libraries, the novel is a terrific accompaniment to middle grade units on diversity.-Jennifer Furuyama, Pendleton Public Library, OR (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.