Cover image for Bunnies!!!
Title:
Bunnies!!!
Author:
Atteberry, Kevan, author, illustrator.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 24 x 27 cm
Summary:
"A monster searches everywhere to find the things he loves: bunnies"--
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062307835
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Angola Public Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Audubon Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Clarence Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Concord Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Dudley Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
East Aurora Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
East Delavan Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Elma Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Grand Island Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenilworth Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenmore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Lackawanna Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Marilla Free Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Niagara Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Orchard Park Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Riverside Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Story time for little ones has never been this exciting! When a friendly monster spots a group of bunnies in the woods, his delight is contagious. And when they're gone, how he misses them.

With bright illustrations and a simple text, this is the most fun type of read-aloud and one that mirrors most every toddler's emotional life.

"A diplomatic exploration of loving not wisely, but too well." --Publishers Weekly



"The madcap action that will have [children] laughing with delight and asking for the book again." --School Library Journal



Bunnies!!!, by Tickle Monster illustrator Kevan Atteberry, is perfect for fans of Mo Willems and Sandra Boynton.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Wild excitement at meeting new friends and the struggle to control emotions make Atteberry's monster hero an effective (and funny) stand-in for a certain sort of child. His blue, ovoid monster is happy to see everything in the forest ("Hello, tree. Hello clouds"), but when it spots four candy-colored bunnies, its joy knows no bounds: "BUNNIES!!!" It starts to chase the bunnies, who-understandably-run and hide. The spurned monster continues walking, shoulders slumped, its tail dragging; it halfheartedly continues to greet an ever-more-depressing array of objects ("Hello, stick. Hello, dirt"). The bunnies can be seen hiding behind trees, conflicted; they don't want to be overwhelmed, but they don't want to make the monster sad, either. At last, the bunnies willingly subject themselves to the monster's exuberance-until something new catches its attention, that is. In his first outing as author, Atteberry (Halloween Hustle) concentrates on conveying the monster's tempestuous feelings (and lots of giggles besides) in polished scenes that mix single- and double-page images with sequential panels. A diplomatic exploration of loving not wisely, but too well. Ages 4-8. Agent: Erin Murphy, Erin Murphy Literary Agency. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 1-A friendly naif of a monster happily greets every cloud, tree, and butterfly he encounters until he spots four pastel-colored "Bunnies!!!" and leaps after them with unabashed enthusiasm. The monster is visibly deflated when the terrified rabbits quickly disappear. More subdued, he goes on greeting forest objects until he once more runs into the foursome, with the same results. The cottontails, peeking out from trees and bushes, see the little monster's sadness and realize that he just wants to play. A satisfied monster and happy bunnies then cavort together until the monster spots... "Birdies!" The expressive cartoon characters rendered digitally in full color make this spare tale understandable for both readers and non-readers. The combination of cartoon panels and spreads creates a palpable sense of action and makes the plot easy to follow for the youngest listeners. Children will sympathize with the simple emotions of the monster and the unease of the rabbits that slowly builds toward trust, but it is the madcap action that will have them laughing with delight and asking for the book again.-Marge Loch-Wouters, La Crosse Public Library, WI (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview