Cover image for Louise loves art
Title:
Louise loves art
Author:
Light, Kelly, 1970- , author, illustrator.
Edition:
First Edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 29 cm
Summary:
A young girl who loves to draw and display her masterpieces at the "gallery du fridge" is too busy to pay attention to her little brother who wants to make a masterpiece of his own.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
AD 180 Lexile.
ISBN:
9780062248176
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

For fans of Olivia and Eloise, this stunning debut from Kelly Light is an irresistible story about the importance of creativity in all its forms.

Meet Louise. Louise loves art more than anything. It's her imagination on the outside. She is determined to create a masterpiece--her pièce de résistance!

Louise also loves Art, her little brother. This is their story.

Louise Loves Art is a celebration of the brilliant artist who resides in all of us.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Louise loves to draw, and her drawings are spread out all over the floor as she explains to readers what she loves about art: "It's my imagination on the outside," she says. Meanwhile, her towheaded younger brother-whose name is also Art-shows his admiration for his big sister by using a red crayon and scissors to make a paper pair of red glasses just like hers. Then he grabs her best drawing and snips it into paper dolls. "Art! How could you?" Louise groans. "It's my drawing... my masterpiece!" She forgives him, though: "Oh, Art, I love it," she says generously-she very clearly loves both kinds of Art. Louise is full of enthusiasm for her own work, but she also has some good advice: "To be a great artist, you have to notice everything." Newcomer Light (illustrator of the Elvis and the Underdogs series) is a confident visual storyteller with a gentle sense of comic timing; Louise and Art have the loose, stylized look of vintage comics characters, with similarly easy-to-read expressions. Ages 4-8. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

K-Gr 3-Passion is contagious. Fun, focused, and full of flair, Louise anxiously works toward creating her masterpiece. Meanwhile her little brother, tagging along, wants her attention. No whining or pulling skirts, though. Wide-eyed, he admires her with a thoughtful smile as she hugs her drawings, exclaiming, "I love art! It's my imagination on the outside." He picks up some scissors (remember paper chain people?) and with a parallel focus and drive begins to make his own art, unbeknownst to either Louise or readers. The other visual subplot features the equally engaged Bewitched-style black cat that acts as the visual narrator. All is laid out in a retro, comic-book style, told in (mostly) bright white with bits of neutrals and lots of flashes of British telephone booth red: a crayon, a pair of scissors, Louise's Corbusier glasses, and her ubiquitous signature everywhere. It reaches a surprising, dreadful, pensive, joyful conclusion when they arrive at the "Gallery du Fridge" to hang Louise's "piece de resistance." Then the pace stops and starts, as Louise discovers that her little brother is indeed an artist, too. The fresh sense of design and color and plays on words will entertain adults. Younger siblings will appreciate Louise's generosity that transcends the typical dominant older sibling dynamic. Most importantly, budding artists, those not only crazy for art but who have their eyes and heart open, will find a muse and a collaborator.-Sara Lissa Paulson, The American Sign Language and English Lower School, New York City (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.