Cover image for Just a duck?
Title:
Just a duck?
Author:
Bramsen, Carin.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Random House, [2015]
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 27 cm
Summary:
"Duck and Cat discover that being yourself--makes for being the best of friends"--
Language:
English
Reading Level:
AD 200 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 1.6 0.5 171838.
ISBN:
9780385384155

9780375973444
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
East Aurora Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Kenilworth Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenmore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Being fixed/mended
Searching...
Orchard Park Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Lake Shore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Niagara Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie series, Carin Bramsen's beloved Hey, Duck! characters return in this humorous and heartwarming picture book all about friendship.

Now that Cat has learned to play games that Duck enjoys, it's Duck's turn to try things that Cat likes. However, climbing trees and swatting at leaves prove to be a bit tricky for flat-footed Duck. What's an unlikely pair of friends to do?

Look for these other books featuring Duck and Cat:

Hey, Duck!

Sleepover Duck (available 1/2/18)


Praise for Carin Bramsen's Duck and Cat books:

Hey, Duck!

"A sweet, tender and charming experience to read aloud or together." -- Kirkus Reviews

". . . should tickle preschoolers." -- Publishers Weekly

Just a Duck?

"Outstanding . . . An endearing story for group or one-on-one sharing." -- School Library Journal

"The tale is equal in every way to the visual appeal . . . Sweet, tender and delightful." -- Kirkus Reviews

"A gently funny story of the differences, similarities, and compromises that make for rewarding friendships" -- Publishers Weekly

2016 Buckeye Book Award nominee!


Author Notes

CARIN BRAMSEN received her BA in art history from Barnard College and has studied at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the School of Visual Arts in New York City. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, where she illustrates, paints, and performs the occasional high kick for the squirrels outside her window.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Lighthearted questions of identity persist in this tender companion to Hey, Duck! This time, Bramsen's ever-so-feathery yellow Duck is exploring its inner feline. "A cat? But you don't look like me," reacts Cat. "I will when I grow up-you'll see," retorts Duck. As they play, Cat happily humors Duck, whose confidence is briefly shaken when it realizes it lacks a cat's ears or claws but gets a big boost when it rescues Cat after an inadvertent dunk in the lake. A gently funny story of the differences, similarities, and compromises that make for rewarding friendships. Ages 3-7. Agent: Marietta Zacker, Nancy Gallt Literary Agency. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 1-The characters introduced in Bramsen's Hey Duck! (Random, 2013) are back for another tale about friendship. This time, instead of mistaking the cat for a duck, the duckling decides that he is a cat and wants to act like his feline friend. Duck manages to slink through the grass like a cat, but can't manage to climb a tree since he has no claws. When the cat accidentally falls into a lake and is stranded on a log, duck makes the most of his waterfowl abilities by swimming to his buddy and pushing him back to land. Both animals discover they are happy to be just what they are. Bramsen's meticulously rendered illustrations are once again the most outstanding feature. Readers can practically feel the texture of the furry cat, fuzzy duck, silky grass, rough tree bark, and each drop of splashed water. The animals' expressions are mostly playful, but change to confused, surprised, or worried as appropriate. An assortment of full-page images, spreads, and smaller wordless panels varies the design. The simple rhyme is printed in large letters, making it easy for beginning readers to decode. An endearing story for group or one-on-one sharing.-Martha Simpson, Stratford Library Association, CT (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview