Cover image for Twisted fate
Title:
Twisted fate
Author:
Olson, Norah, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]

©2015
Physical Description:
259 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
Told from separate viewpoints, unfolds how sisters Sydney and Ally Tate's relationship changes as they get involved with their new neighbor, Graham, an artist with a videocamera who has a mysterious--and dangerous--past.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
HL 770 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 5.2 9.0 171645.

Reading Counts RC High School 5.7 15 Quiz: 65450.
ISBN:
9780062272041
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Clarence Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Clearfield Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Crane Branch Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
East Aurora Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Grand Island Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Hamburg Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Anna M. Reinstein Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Told in alternating points of view by a wide cast of characters, Twisted Fate is a tensely wrought psychological thriller, perfect for fans of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

Two sisters. One mysterious boy.

Ally and Sydney couldn't be more different--one shy, the other popular and outgoing--and when a new boy moves in next door, tensions between the sisters escalate. Graham is attractive, peculiar, and perhaps a little dangerous, and both girls are drawn to him in ways they can't quite explain. As each girl's relationship with Graham unfolds the more complicated the truth becomes--until a shocking encounter turns their sleepy coastal town upside down, and makes the sisters question everything they thought they knew about themselves and each other.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

When artistic, odd Graham Copeland moves in next door to sisters Allyson and Sydney Tate, the girls have instant and opposite reactions: Ally is inexplicably drawn to Graham, while Sydney is inexplicably wary. Since the sisters are polar opposites, their differing reactions aren't unexpected, but as Graham settles in, it becomes increasingly clear that he has a fevered and dangerous history, and Sydney's suspicions are not unfounded. Former crime journalist Olson uses a variety of narrative structures, darting around in both time and perspective. Sydney and Allyson's narrations take center stage, but extracts from Graham's journal appear, as do reports from his stepmother and the chief of police. The reader knows early on that death is near but whose? Astute readers may figure out the final plot twist well before it comes, but even those who sense what's coming will still admire Olson's skillful tension building and well-crafted voices.--Reagan, Maggie Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Sisters Allyson and Sydney are total opposites, "like two sides of the same coin." Allyson likes to bake; Sydney likes to get baked. Allyson is sweet-natured but struggles with school; Sydney is smart but sardonic. When a boy named Graham moves into the house across the street, both girls become fascinated with him: Allyson wants to be with him, and Sydney wants to uncover what she is sure are dark secrets in his past. Meanwhile, Graham is psychologically disturbed, medicating himself and obsessively filming everyone around him-an activity his parents allow, even though it ended in tragedy in their former hometown. Debut author Olson alternates points of view among Allyson, Sydney, and Graham, along with occasional interludes from their friends, Graham's worried parents, and others. Readers will quickly-too quickly-realize that things are not as they seem where Allyson and Sydney are concerned; the clues Olson includes sabotage the very tension she is attempting to build. Some of the surprises hit their marks, but many readers will guess where this thriller is headed long before it gets there. Ages 13-up. (Jan.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Allyson and Sydney Tate may be sisters, but they are hardly alike. Allyson dresses like a model from the L.L.Bean catalog and spends her free time baking muffins, while Sydney skateboards, smokes pot with her friends, and listens to punk rock. Then Graham Copeland moves in next door. Graham is an artist and his medium is film; he quickly and easily loses himself behind his ever-present camera. Graham is cute and seems a little shy, but Syd knows that something about him is off. She just doesn't know if she can convince Ally in time. Set in present-day coastal Maine, Olson's first young adult novel is an exploration of drugs, mental illness, individual perception, friendship, and familial relationships. The work cycles through the perspectives of Ally, Syd, Graham, and a few others, with consecutive chapters that often convey the same scene from two different points of view. Olson combines this distinct style of storytelling with past-tense narration and subtle foreshadowing to develop the three main characters, to create conflict as well as tension, and to propel readers forward. A great addition to any YA realistic fiction collection, this thriller that will keep readers guessing until the very last page.-Maggie Mason Smith, Clemson University R. M. Cooper Library, South Carolina (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview