Cover image for Tunnel vision
Title:
Tunnel vision
Author:
Adrian, Susan, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Griffin, 2015.

©2014
Physical Description:
314 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
When Jake Lukin, eighteen, reveals his psychic ability, he's forced to become a government asset in order to keep his mother and sister safe, but Rachel, the girl he likes, tries to help him live his own life instead of tunneling through others.
General Note:
"A novel"--Jacket.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250047922
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Romance and action come crashing together in Susan Adrian's Tunnel Vision in which a teenage boy with incredible powers is brought to the attention of the government.

Jake Lukin just turned 18. He's decent at tennis and Halo , and waiting to hear on his app to Stanford. But he's also being followed by a creep with a gun, and there's a DARPA agent waiting in his bedroom. His secret is blown.

When Jake holds a personal object, like a pet rock or a ring, he has the ability to "tunnel" into the owner. He can sense where they are, like a human GPS, and can see, hear, and feel what they do. It's an ability the government would do anything to possess: a perfect surveillance unit who could locate fugitives, spies, or terrorists with a single touch.

Jake promised his dad he'd never tell anyone about his ability. But his dad died two years ago, and Jake slipped. If he doesn't agree to help the government, his mother and sister may be in danger. Suddenly he's juggling high school, tennis tryouts, flirting with Rachel Watkins, and work as a government asset, complete with 24-hour bodyguards.

Forced to lie to his friends and family, and then to choose whether to give up everything for their safety, Jake hopes the good he's doing--finding kidnap victims and hostages, and tracking down terrorists--is worth it. But he starts to suspect the good guys may not be so good after all. With Rachel's help, Jake has to try to escape both good guys and bad guys and find a way to live his own life instead of tunneling through others.


Author Notes

SUSAN ADRIAN is a 4th-generation Californian who somehow stumbled into living in Montana. As a child she danced in a ballet company and read plays dramatically to blackberry bushes. Later she got a degree in English from the University of California Davis and worked in the fields of exotic pet-sitting, clothes-schlepping, and bookstore management. She's settled in, mostly, as a scientific editor. When she's not hanging out with her husband and daughter, she keeps busy researching spy stuff, learning Russian, traveling, and writing more books. Tunnel Vision is her first novel.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Jake Lukin is a normal 18-year-old senior awaiting college acceptance, on the tennis team, with good friends and maybe even a new romance when he blows it all. During a party, he tunnels to impress Rachel, unintentionally revealing to DARPA that he has the ability to find people by handling an object that they have touched. Agents swarm, first allowing him to stay in school and with his family, while occasionally tunneling to find kidnap victims or terrorists. Eventually he is secreted underground, becoming more and more isolated but determined to escape and lead a normal life. Adrian has crafted a tension-packed spy novel about a likable teen with a special power and his equally likable family and friends. Twists of plot, kids outsmarting the bad guys, and a relatively low-tech but fascinating superpower ratchet up the action to a bizarre conclusion that begs a sequel. With a grandfather that would make Richard Peck or Joan Bauer proud, and government goons, male and female, who morph between good and evil with a single look or comment, this is a must-read.--Bradburn, Frances Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Government surveillance. Psychic abilities. Family secrets. All 18-year-old Jacob Lukin wants is a girlfriend and acceptance to Stanford, but when he makes the mistake of "tunneling" (psychically identifying a person's location through an object) at a party, he gets caught in a string of lies that ends in a shadowy government agency he can't shake. The deeper Jacob falls into the agency's clutches, the more dangerous he becomes-to himself and others. Only Jacob's grandfather, himself a wanted man, understands what is happening to him. As they plot their escape, Jacob and his grandfather uncover an even greater threat to Jacob's well-being. Debut author Adrian offers a refreshing spin on the suspenseful spy novel with brisk scenes, adrenaline-fueled cliffhangers, and a sympathetic protagonist. Though the motives of the main characters become muddled by the end, and Adrian's descriptive passages are typical, there is much to savor in this thriller. It comes as no surprise that Adrian introduces the whiff of a sequel in the final pages. Ages 13-up. Agent: Kate Schafer Testerman, KT Literary. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 7 Up-Jake Lukin has a secret talent: if he holds an object that belongs to a person, he can instantaneously "tunnel" to that person-envisioning them physically, pinpointing their location, seeing what they see, feeling what they feel. After Jake reveals his skill at a high school party, he quickly finds himself on the run from government agents who would harness his talents for their own purposes. This YA novel is a heart-racing thriller set at full throttle from the opening page, and it never decelerates. Fans of Cory Doctorow and Anthony Horowitz will consume this title with a passion and will excitedly anticipate a sequel.-Leah Krippner, Harlem High School, Machesney Park, IL (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.