Cover image for Geek girl
Title:
Geek girl
Author:
Smale, Holly, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First US edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : HarperTeen, 2015.

©2015.
Physical Description:
362 pages, 7 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
When she is accidentally discovered by a modeling agent, fifteen-year-old Harriet jumps at the chance to transform herself from a geek to a fashion model.
General Note:
Originally published in Great Britain in 2013 by HarperCollins Children's Books.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062333575

9780062333582
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Boston Free Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Clearfield Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Elma Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Kenmore Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Lancaster Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
City of Tonawanda Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Hamburg Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
East Clinton Branch Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Audubon Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Geek + runway = a runaway UK hit! Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious, internationally bestselling series that's perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and The Princess Diaries.

Harriet Manners is a geek. She always has been, and she thought she always would be--but when she's discovered by a modeling agent, she leaps at the chance to reinvent herself. There's only one problem: Harriet is the definition of awkward. Can she transform from geek to chic?


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

For 15-year-old Harriet, fun means correcting people's grammar and watching nature documentaries. When she panics which is often she hides under furniture and hangs around in Laundromats. In her mismatched cartoon T-shirts and lounge pants, Harriet is as awkward as her best friend Nat is stunning. Nat has always had one dream: to be a model. But it's Harriet who gets discovered at the open call Nat drags her to. And Harriet is the one who tests the limits of their friendship when she reluctantly agrees to a tour of star-studded runway shows abroad in hopes of proving to her classmates and family (and, yes, herself) that there's more to her than awkwardness. Smale was herself an unlikely teen model, which helps brings her effervescent characters to life: Harriet is flanked by a bookish, nonthreatening stalker; a flamboyant agent; despicable mean girls; and a hopelessly dashing male model. A smash hit in the UK and finally released in the U.S., this is a cheeky, fabulous, fun read for anyone who has dreamed of a fresh start.--Walters Wright, Lexi Copyright 2015 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

British teen Harriet Manners is the official school geek, and she suffers constant torment by her peers. When Harriet's longtime best friend Nat, an aspiring model, drags her to a fashion event, it's Harriet, not Nat, who gets "discovered," driving a wedge between them. As 15-year-old Harriet is whisked to Moscow for photo shoots, fashion shows, and the promise of future fame and fortune, she and her father lie to everyone about their whereabouts, creating all manner of complications. Debut author Smale, a former model herself, gives Harriet an instantly appealing narrative voice, full of discursions and self-deprecation-wisecracking, down-on-her-luck Harriet is easy to warm to. If the ugly duckling turned swan is cliche, both Smale and Harriet know it. "I could go from proverbial caterpillar to butterfly, from tadpole to frog," thinks Harriet. "From larva to dragonfly (which is actually only a half metamorphosis, but still-I think-worth mentioning)." Other overfamiliar types (including Harriet's extravagantly flamboyant agent and an ultra-severe fashion maven) deflate the story's fun somewhat, but most readers will thoroughly enjoy Harriet's uproarious misadventures. Ages 13-up. Agent: Kate Shaw, Viney Agency. (Jan.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 7-10-Harriet Manners, star of this British import, is a geek through and through. She has no idea how to dress, is awkward and clumsy, spouts off facts at every opportunity, is bullied mercilessly at school, and has one friend, Nat, and one stalker, Toby. Nat dreams of becoming a fashion model and drags a completely uninterested Harriet along to Clothes Week, hoping to get discovered. As soon as they arrive, Nat runs off to find an agent leaving Harriet to her own devices. While looking at hats, Harriet manages to knock over several stalls, which creates quite a commotion and leads to her unwanted discovery by a modeling agent. Insert hilarity, deception, misunderstanding, fashion, makeup, and hairstyles. Harriet loses and regains her best friend and finds a new friend in Toby while she attempts to navigate modeling for one of the top fashion designers. Quirky, likable, and geeky, Harriet is an outsider to the modeling world but possesses a natural charm that is everything the fashion world needs.  Pure fun.-Heather Acerro, Rochester Public Library, MN (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview