Cover image for A cold legacy
Title:
A cold legacy
Author:
Shepherd, Megan, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]
Physical Description:
390 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
After escaping to a remote estate on the Scottish moors, owned by the enigmatic Elizabeth von Stein, Juliet Moreau, the product of her father's animal-human experiments, uncovers the truth about the manor's long history of scientific experimentation--and her own intended role in it.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
HL 720 Lexile.
ISBN:
9780062128089
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Alden Ewell Free Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Teen
Searching...
Angola Public Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Audubon Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Boston Free Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Clearfield Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Collins Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Concord Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Crane Branch Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Dudley Branch Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Series
Searching...
East Clinton Branch Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
East Delavan Branch Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Eden Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Eggertsville-Snyder Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Elma Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Grand Island Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Hamburg Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Kenilworth Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Lackawanna Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Lake Shore Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Lancaster Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Science Fiction/Fantasy
Searching...
Marilla Free Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Frank E. Merriweather Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
North Park Branch Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Niagara Branch Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
City of Tonawanda Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
North Collins Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein--and perfect for fans of Libba Bray--this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy explores the things we'll sacrifice to save those we love...even our own humanity.

After killing the men who tried to steal her father's research, Juliet and her friends have escaped to a remote estate on the Scottish moors. Owned by the enigmatic Elizabeth von Stein, the mansion is full of mysteries and unexplained oddities: dead bodies in the basement, secret passages, and fortune tellers who seem to know Juliet's secrets. Though it appears to be a safe haven, Juliet fears new dangers may be present within the manor's walls.

Then Juliet uncovers the truth about the manor's long history of scientific experimentation--and her own intended role in it--forcing her to determine where the line falls between right and wrong, life and death, magic and science, and promises and secrets. And she must decide if she'll follow her father's dark footsteps or her mother's tragic ones, or whether she'll make her own.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

On the run from the police after a horrific event, Juliet and her band of friends hope that the moors of Scotland and the remoteness of a benefactress' estate can offer them some much-needed respite in a time of turmoil. However, once arrived at the estate, Juliet begins to see that she is not the only one hiding secrets. Her benefactress possesses the skills and knowledge to heal and repair those whose physical ailments should have been fatal. With the police hot on their heels, Juliet must decide whether to continue the work of her benefactress or blaze a new trail of her own. Fast paced with an intriguing story line, this novel quickly draws readers in and keeps them hooked until the last page. This is the third part of a series, which began with The Madman's Daughter (2013), and with many allusions to events in the previous installments, those familiar with Juliet and her world will have a richer experience. Still, this can also stand alone, and newcomers will find much to enjoy here.--Gaus, Eve Copyright 2014 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Starred Review. Gr 9 Up-The final volume of the "Madman's Daughter" series (HarperCollins) accomplishes something too often lacking in trilogies-a third volume that is as compelling and well-written as the first installment. In this entry inspired by Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, Juliet, Lucy, Montgomery, Balthazar, and Edward have escaped from their pursuers to the Scottish estate of Juliet's friend and benefactor, Elizabeth von Stein. They find the isolated estate inhabited by a number of young women and girls, "wards" of Elizabeth, and one very strange male child named Hensley, Elizabeth's son. Juliet also discovers that the secrets of the rich woman's ancestor Victor Frankenstein have been preserved by the family, and with no legitimate heirs, Juliet has been chosen to receive the knowledge of "Perpetual Anatomy." The heroine wonders if she can use this knowledge to save Edward, but the complicated process is fraught with danger. Intrigue, the growing fear of discovery by their pursuers, romances between Elizabeth and Edward as well as Juliet and Montgomery, danger from within the house and its inhabitants, and secrets abound. In addition to the outer turmoil, Juliet continues to worry whether or not as her father's daughter she, too, has the "madness" gene. The skillfully drawn and well-developed characters face their emotional upheavals and outside dangers with aplomb. Shepherd's adroit weaving of the Frankenstein story line into the already complex world of Dr. Moreau's daughter, brings an exciting new twist and a satisfactory ending to the trilogy. Fast-paced and romantic, this page-turning volume results in mixed emotions-contentment with the ending, but still a desire for more.-Janet Hilbun, University of North Texas (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview