Cover image for Twenty trillion leagues under the sea
Title:
Twenty trillion leagues under the sea
Author:
Roberts, Adam (Adam Charles), author.
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Publication Information:
New York : St. Martin's Griffin, 2015.
Physical Description:
306 pages ; 21 cm
Summary:
"Adam Roberts revisits Jules Verne's classic novel in a collaboration with the illustrator behind a recent ... edition of The Hunting of the Snark. It is 1958 and France's first nuclear submarine, Plongeur, leaves port for the first of its sea trials. On board, gathered together for the first time, are one of the Navy's most experienced captains and a tiny skeleton crew of sailors, engineers, and scientists. The Plongeur makes her first dive and goes down, and down and down. Out of control, the submarine plummets to a depth where the pressure will crush her hull, killing everyone on board, and beyond"--
General Note:
Originally published: Great Britain : Gollancz, 2014.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250057792
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library FICTION Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Adam Roberts's Twenty Trillion Leagues Under the Sea revisits Jules Verne's classic novel in a collaboration with the illustrator behind a recent highly acclaimed edition of The Hunting of the Snark
It is 1958 and France's first nuclear submarine, Plongeur , leaves port for the first of its sea trials. On board, gathered together for the first time, are one of the Navy's most experienced captains and a tiny skeleton crew of sailors, engineers, and scientists. The Plongeur makes her first dive and goes down, and down and down. Out of control, the submarine plummets to a depth where the pressure will crush her hull, killing everyone on board, and beyond. The pressure builds, the hull protests, the crew prepare for death, the boat reaches the bottom of the sea and finds nothing. Her final dive continues, the pressure begins to relent, but the depth gauge is useless. They have gone miles down. Hundreds of miles, thousands, and so it goes on. Onboard the crew succumb to madness, betrayal, religious mania, and murder. Has the Plongeur left the limits of our world and gone elsewhere?


Author Notes

ADAM ROBERTS is a writer of sci-fi novels and stories, as well as Professor of Nineteenth-century Literature in English at Royal Holloway, University of London. Salt , Gradisil and Yellow Blue Tibia were nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award. By Light Alone has been shortlisted for the 2012 BSFA Award.

MAHENDRA SINGH is a freelance illustrator whose Melville House illustrated edition of The Hunting of the Snark was praised by Library Journal , the New Yorker , Salon.com , and Shelf Awareness .


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Roberts has a gift for taking familiar sf tropes and catapulting them far from their origins to new and exciting destinations. In his latest novel, he revisits Jules Verne's Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea, and while the cover art and abundant illustrations suggest the atmosphere of that classic title, Roberts' imaginings soon diverge from the original. It's 1958 and France is launching the Plongeur, a nuclear submarine capable of reaching depths greater than any vessel before her. The Plongeur is captained by the acerbic Captain Cloche and manned by a skeleton crew, including scientists and the controversial political officer Lebret. Cloche mistrusts Lebret from the beginning, and things only get worse as the sub descends at first to depths beyond its tolerance and then to depths that defy logic and science. As the crew's sanity deteriorates, Roberts twists the plot further with strange creatures and philosophical discussions of the human condition. Readers looking for a simple update of Verne's classic may be challenged by the broad themes and ambiguous ending, but hard sf fans will relish this fascinating story.--Clark, Craig Copyright 2015 Booklist


Library Journal Review

In 1958, France's new nuclear submarine Plongeur is on a test voyage when it inexplicably plunges into depths far beyond anything previously deemed possible. Onboard the crew share shameful secrets and expose weaknesses when it looks like death is near, but the Plongeur just keeps diving. They pass through waters filled with strange creatures and face dangers without and within the sub as they head for a rendezvous with the unknown. VERDICT Both old-fashioned in its homage to Jules Verne's Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea and modern in its sf aspirations, the latest work from Roberts (Jack Glass) is a strange reading experience. He is a talented crafter of words, so in no way is the book ever not a pleasure to read; however, there are real issues with pacing and cohesion in this uneven and unusual undersea tale. This odd little novel, which includes Singh's (The Hunting of the Snark) 20 black-and-white illustrations, will probably best appeal to fans of Tim Powers or Christopher Priest. [Library marketing.] (c) Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview