Cover image for Shadow of the raven : a Dr. Thomas Silkstone mystery
Title:
Shadow of the raven : a Dr. Thomas Silkstone mystery
Author:
Harris, Tessa, author.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Kensington Books, 2015.

©2015
Physical Description:
355 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
In the notorious mental hospital known as Bedlam, Dr. Thomas Silkstone seeks out a patient with whom he is on intimate terms. But he is unprepared for the state in which he finds Lady Lydia Farrell. Shocked into action, Thomas vows to help free Lydia by appealing to the custodian of her affairs, Mr. Nicholas Lupton. But when Silkstone arrives at the Boughton Estate to speak to Lupton, he finds that another form of madness has taken over the village. Sweeping changes to the Boughton Estate threaten to leave many villagers, who are rightfully angry, destitute. After a single shot rings out and a man dies in the woods, it appears that the desperate villagers have turned to murder to avenge their cause. But for Thomas, a post-mortem on the victim raises more questions than answers. Although he manages to save an innocent man from the gallows, a second murder warns him of his potentially fatal situation. Soon he discovers a conspiracy far more sinister than anything he has ever faced.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780758293398
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Mystery
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Ensconced in the woods of rural England, 1784, American anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone hunts for justice amid a maelstrom of madness, murder, and social upheaval. . .

In the notorious mental hospital known as Bedlam, Dr. Thomas Silkstone seeks out a patient with whom he is on intimate terms. But he is unprepared for the state in which he finds Lady Lydia Farrell. Shocked into action, Thomas vows to help free Lydia by appealing to the custodian of her affairs, Mr. Nicholas Lupton. But when Silkstone arrives at the Boughton Estate to speak to Lupton, he finds that another form of madness has taken over the village. . .

Sweeping changes to the Boughton Estate threaten to leave many villagers, who are rightfully angry, destitute. After a single shot rings out and a man dies in the woods, it appears that the desperate villagers have turned to murder to avenge their cause. But for Thomas, a post-mortem on the victim raises more questions than answers. Although he manages to save an innocent man from the gallows, a second murder warns him of his potentially fatal situation. Soon he discovers a conspiracy far more sinister than anything he has ever faced. But who it leads to is the last person he suspects. . .

Outstanding praise for Tessa Harris and her Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mysteries!

The Devil's Breath

"Excellent. . .Both literally and figuratively atmospheric, this will appeal to fans of Imogen Robertson's series during the same period." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Stunning. . .perfect book club fodder." -- Library Journal

"A fascinating series. . .Harris is at her vivid best describing in precise, fearsome detail the 'Great Fogg'." -- The New York Times Book Review

The Dead Shall Not Rest

"Highly recommended." -- Historical Novel Reviews

"Outstanding. . .well-rounded characters, cleverly concealed evidence and an assured prose style point to a long run for this historical series." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Populated with real historical characters and admirably researched, Harris's novel features a complex and engrossing plot. A touch of romance makes this sophomore outing even more enticing. Savvy readers will also recall Hilary Mantel's The Giant, O'Brien." -- Library Journal

The Anatomist's Apprentice

"Densely plotted. . . We await--indeed, demand--the sequel." -- The New York Times Book Review

"An absorbing debut. . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised." -- Publishers Weekly

"Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." -- Library Journal


Author Notes

Tessa Harris is the author of the acclaimed Dr. Thomas Silkstone mysteries, including Secrets in the Stones and The Anatomist's Apprentice . A graduate of Oxford University with a history degree, Tessa has also been a journalist and editor, contributing to many publications such as the Times and the Telegraph . She has also acted as a literary publicist for several well-known authors. Readers can visit her website at tessaharrisauthor.com.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

More romantic thriller than whodunit, Harris's fifth Thomas Silkstone novel set in late 18th-century England focuses on Silkstone's efforts to reunite with his love, Lady Lydia Farrell. At the end of 2014's The Lazarus Curse, Lydia was confined to London's Bethlem Hospital through the machinations of her late brother's guardian, Sir Montagu Malthus, and a crooked physician. Almost two months later, Silkstone is still unable to see her on his visits to the facility, and is later barred from the premises. By portraying Malthus as a clichéd villain, without any nuance or depth, Harris renders the confrontations between him and Silkstone superficial and unengaging. While Silkstone has the fatal shooting of surveyor Jeffrey Turgoose to solve, the relegation of the mystery to the background and an unsatisfying ending serve to make this the weakest entry in an otherwise strong series. Agent: Melissa Jeglinski, Knight Agency. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

In 1784, American doctor Thomas Silkstone uses his forensic skills when called in to autopsy a murder victim in a small town outside of Oxford, England. A local landowner is using the Enclosure Act of 1773 to increase his property holdings, and amidst community unrest, a surveyor is shot. Murders ensue, and the body count rises. The book begins where the cliffhanger ending of The Lazarus Curse left off, and much of the story is related to Silkstone's continuing star-crossed romance with a local aristocrat and ends with a cliffhanger of its own. While this is a series best consumed in order, enough backstory is included for a newcomer to pick up the plot easily. It benefits from the narration by Simon Vance, who reads with a number of voices and accents for a fully dramatic performance. VERDICT This audiobook includes plenty of historical detail, and both mystery readers and fans of historical fiction will find it of interest.--Janet Martin, Pinehurst, NC © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.