Cover image for The love book
The love book
Solomon, Nina, 1961- , author.
Publication Information:
Brooklyn, NY : Kaylie Jones Books : Akashic Books, [2015].

Physical Description:
319 pages ; 21 cm
While on a singles bike tour, four very different women become friends and discover a book that takes them on a journey to love.
Geographic Term:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
City of Tonawanda Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Clarence Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Clearfield Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Kenmore Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Marilla Free Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Newstead Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Orchard Park Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



It all starts when four unsuspecting women on a singles' bike trip through Normandy discover a mysterious red book about love. But did they discover it - or did the book bring them together? Magical words, spells, conjurations and a little dose of synchronicity abound in The Love Book, an anti-rom com about the misadventures of four women who embark on a soulmate-seeking journey. The four women - Emily, Beatrice, Max and Cathy - are each nudged, cajoled, inspired (or perhaps guided') despite themselves, to discover love, fulfilment and the nature of what being a soulmate means.'

Author Notes

Nina Solomon 's first novel, Single Wife , was a Book-of-the-Month Club, Literary Guild, and Quality Paperback Book Club selection and was optioned by Warner Bros. The Love Book was inspired by her own search for a soul mate, who, she is happy to report, only took twenty-seven days and thirty years to find his way to her. She was born and raised in New York City and has lived in the same zip code since she was five.

Kaylie Jones (editor) is the award-winning author of five novels and a memoir. She teaches writing at two MFA programs and lives in New York City.

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Emily, Beatrice, Max, and Cathy would never have met if it wasn't for Madame Bovary. Grouped together on a cycling tour of Flaubert's Normandy, the four women share adventures, frustrations, the full scope of French weather, and plenty of calvados. Back in the U.S., the women find that they have a strange book in common, too. The Love Book continues to insert itself into their lives, appearing in purses and on shelves, forcing its red leather-bound cover into their hands. All four women have been unlucky in love recently, and The Love Book might hold all the answers they need. On the other hand, can you really trust a book to find your soul mate? Intermingling their stories and voices, the novel delves into the lives of four very different women joined by a common purpose. Though voicing an ensemble novel can be tough, Solomon does an admirable job of keeping the four characters distinct and relatable. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary Kay Andrews will enjoy this grown-up Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, a story of risk, reward, loss, and love.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2010 Booklist

Publisher's Weekly Review

Solomon's follow-up to her 2003 debut Single Wife revolves around four unlikely friends who first meet during a disastrous Flaubert-themed bike trip in France. There, one of them comes across the titular book about attracting a mate. While the premise of four disparate personalities meeting cute may seem trite at first, Solomon's effort eventually blossoms into a compelling mix of story lines. Back in Manhattan, Emily, a freelance writer with an impressionable 10-year-old son, catches the eye of Duncan, a charming author with a mean streak that rivals Emily's ex-husband's. Fellow New Yorker Max, a tough tomboy who guards her heart fiercely and worries about having fallen for too-good-to-be-true Garrett, works as a personal trainer. Superstitious Cathy, who found the Love Book and keeps trying to get the four together to follow its exercises, lives with her elderly father after having lost her home in a fire. She's dying to find her soul mate, unlike fiery Beatrice, who is fiercely independent at 69 and determined not to let any man tie her down, even her married paramour Freddy, who wants to marry her, or his brother Malcolm, who is clearly the guy for her. Things may end a little too neatly for the protagonists, but there's plenty of good banter and characterization before the inevitable happy conclusion. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Google Preview