Cover image for The love book
Title:
The love book
Author:
Solomon, Nina, 1961- , author.
Publication Information:
Brooklyn, NY : Kaylie Jones Books : Akashic Books, [2015].

©2015
Physical Description:
319 pages ; 21 cm
Summary:
While on a singles bike tour, four very different women become friends and discover a book that takes them on a journey to love.
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9781617753176
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Named a Pick of the Week for the week of January 2nd by Publishers Weekly

A New York Post Required Reading Pick

"Fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary Kay Andrews will enjoy this grown-up Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants , a story of risk, reward, loss, and love."
-- Booklist

"Happy endings abound in this novel about the power of love and friendship."
-- Kirkus Reviews

"A compelling mix of story lines...plenty of good banter and characterization."
-- Publishers Weekly

"A heartwarming tale of friendship and love and a nice way to welcome a new year."
-- New York Post

"Solomon showcased four different women and their journey to find what was either right in front of them or something that made them a better person--change for the better."
-- Portland Book Review

"This book will definitely appeal to readers that believe that the universe gives us what we seek out."
-- Heroes and Heartbreakers , Women's Fiction Best Bets for January 2015

"Everybody needs to read this like, right now. You won't regret it."
-- Book Referees

"Solomon...remind[s] readers that sometimes you really do have to be open to love before it will find you."
-- A New Day

"I loved every step of this journey and felt privileged to be along for the ride."
-- Books & Life

" The Love Book should come with a warning: Do not begin unless you can afford to finish it--today . I could not, and did not, put it down. A contemporary Jane Austen, Nina Solomon has written a smart and funny book about what it's like to be a woman, no longer young but not yet old and still single, looking for love in all the wrong places, only to find life. I laughed out loud so often I was downright downcast when I reached the last page and had to give up the good company of these wonderful characters and go back to looking at the world through my own eyes instead of Solomon's."
-- Beverly Donofrio , author of Astonished: A Story of Healing and Finding Grace

The latest novel in Akashic's Kaylie Jones Books imprint.

It all starts when four unsuspecting women on a singles' bike trip through Normandy discover a mysterious red book about love. But did they discover it--or did the book bring them together? Magical words, spells, conjurations, and a little dose of synchronicity abound in The Love Book , an anti-rom com about the misadventures of four women who embark on a soul mate-seeking journey. Somehow The Love Book insinuates itself into their lives and has its way with them. But there is more than matchmaking afoot. The four women--Emily, Beatrice, Max, and Cathy--are each nudged, cajoled, inspired--perhaps "guided"--despite themselves, to discover love, fulfillment, and the true nature of what being a soul mate really means. While on the surface a lighthearted romp, the novel is a serious exploration of the difficulties women routinely encounter when their lives do not turn out the way society, their families, and they themselves may have planned.


Author Notes

Nina Solomon 's first novel, Single Wife , was a Book-of-the-Month Club, Literary Guild, and Quality Paperback Book Club selection and was optioned by Warner Bros. The Love Book was inspired by her own search for a soul mate, who, she is happy to report, only took twenty-seven days and thirty years to find his way to her. She was born and raised in New York City and has lived in the same zip code since she was five.

Kaylie Jones (editor) is the award-winning author of five novels and a memoir. She teaches writing at two MFA programs and lives in New York City.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Emily, Beatrice, Max, and Cathy would never have met if it wasn't for Madame Bovary. Grouped together on a cycling tour of Flaubert's Normandy, the four women share adventures, frustrations, the full scope of French weather, and plenty of calvados. Back in the U.S., the women find that they have a strange book in common, too. The Love Book continues to insert itself into their lives, appearing in purses and on shelves, forcing its red leather-bound cover into their hands. All four women have been unlucky in love recently, and The Love Book might hold all the answers they need. On the other hand, can you really trust a book to find your soul mate? Intermingling their stories and voices, the novel delves into the lives of four very different women joined by a common purpose. Though voicing an ensemble novel can be tough, Solomon does an admirable job of keeping the four characters distinct and relatable. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary Kay Andrews will enjoy this grown-up Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, a story of risk, reward, loss, and love.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Solomon's follow-up to her 2003 debut Single Wife revolves around four unlikely friends who first meet during a disastrous Flaubert-themed bike trip in France. There, one of them comes across the titular book about attracting a mate. While the premise of four disparate personalities meeting cute may seem trite at first, Solomon's effort eventually blossoms into a compelling mix of story lines. Back in Manhattan, Emily, a freelance writer with an impressionable 10-year-old son, catches the eye of Duncan, a charming author with a mean streak that rivals Emily's ex-husband's. Fellow New Yorker Max, a tough tomboy who guards her heart fiercely and worries about having fallen for too-good-to-be-true Garrett, works as a personal trainer. Superstitious Cathy, who found the Love Book and keeps trying to get the four together to follow its exercises, lives with her elderly father after having lost her home in a fire. She's dying to find her soul mate, unlike fiery Beatrice, who is fiercely independent at 69 and determined not to let any man tie her down, even her married paramour Freddy, who wants to marry her, or his brother Malcolm, who is clearly the guy for her. Things may end a little too neatly for the protagonists, but there's plenty of good banter and characterization before the inevitable happy conclusion. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.