Cover image for My father's wives
Title:
My father's wives
Author:
Greenberg, Mike, 1967- , author.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]

©2015.
Physical Description:
223 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
A man who has everything, except a good relationship with his deceased father, tracks down his father's five ex-wives in an effort to understand more about himself.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062325860
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The co-host of ESPN's Mike and Mike follows up his New York Times bestseller All You Could Ask For with this poignant story of one man's search to understand himself, his marriage, and his father.

Jonathan Sweetwater has been blessed with money, a fulfilling career, great kids and Claire, his smart, gorgeous, sophisticated wife. But there is one thing Jonathan never had: a relationship with his father.

Percival Sweetwater III has been absent from his son's life since Jonathan was nine years old. A five-term U.S. senator, now dead, Percy was beloved by presidents, his constituents, and women alike, especially the five women who married him after Jonathan's mother.

Jonathan hasn't thought about Percy or the hole he left in his life for years. Dedicated to Claire and his family, he's nothing like his serial monogamist father. But then Jonathan discovers evidence that everything in his marriage may not be as perfect as he thought. Hurt and uncertain what to do, he knows that the only way to move forward is to go back.

On this quest for understanding--about himself, about manhood, about marriage--Jonathan decides to track down his father's five ex-wives. His journey will take him from cosmopolitan cities to the mile-high mountains to a tropical island--and ultimately back to confront the one thing Jonathan has that his father never did: home.


Reviews 1

Booklist Review

Jonathan Sweetwater has it all beautiful wife, two loving children, and rewarding Wall Street career until he comes home early one day and sees his wife, Claire, in bed with another man. Jonathan decides he won't say anything to Claire about his discovery until he's had time to process, but he soon realizes he can't fully understand his relationship with his wife until he understands his relationship with his father. Percival Sweetwater III was largely absent from Jonathan's life, and the high-profile U.S. senator passed away not long ago. Jonathan decides to visit each of his late father's wives to gain some much-needed closure and marital perspective. Greenberg, cohost of the ESPN sports radio program, Mike and Mike, imbues his second novel with an autobiographical sense of purpose and undeniable honesty. He wraps up the events of My Father's Wives with a too-tidy bow, but the bulk of the novel is a highly enjoyable walk through Jonathan's foggy past, tumultuous present, and imagined future. Fans of Joshua Henkin and Emma Straub will enjoy Greenberg's wry, unflinching domestic fiction.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2015 Booklist