Cover image for The devil you know : a novel
Title:
The devil you know : a novel
Author:
De Mariaffi, Elisabeth, 1973-
Edition:
First Touchstone hardcover edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Touchstone, 2015.
Physical Description:
308 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
"In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison's The Silent Wife, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter, whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger--and a stalker--right to her doorstep. The year is 1993. Rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne's case cold. Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help--but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large--and that he's coming back for her. From critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes a spine-tingling debut about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled"--
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781476779089
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Audubon Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Clarence Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Clearfield Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Eggertsville-Snyder Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Elma Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Grand Island Library FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item Open Shelf
Searching...
Hamburg Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Kenilworth Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Lake Shore Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Lancaster Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Newstead Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Orchard Park Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Anna M. Reinstein Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Gripping!" --Margaret Atwood via Twitter (@MargaretAtwood)

In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison's The Silent Wife , The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter, whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger--and a stalker--right to her doorstep.

The year is 1993. Rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne's case cold.

Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help--but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large--and that he's coming back for her.

From critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes a spine-tingling debut about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Evie Jones is a young reporter in 1993 Toronto, doing more investigating than actual writing. Her latest assignment is for an ongoing story that Evie nicknames dead-girls weekend section. She gets bumped up from digging through basement archives for stories about long-dead girls to searching LexisNexis, which intensifies the hunt. Evie has never really recovered from her best friend's kidnapping and murder when they were 11 years old, and the suspect, Robert Cameron, was never caught. With the digital age upon her, Evie starts digging into her friend's case as she tries to deal with a growing suspicion that someone is stalking her. Paranoia is the main theme here (Is Evie imagining the stalker?) as the suspense slowly builds, reaching a frightening climax as Evie, who apparently has never seen a horror movie, goes off alone into the basement of a possible suspect's hunting cabin deep in the woods. A somewhat predictable but nevertheless engaging thriller from a promising first novelist.--Alesi, Stacy Copyright 2015 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Set in and around Toronto in 1993, Canadian author de Mariaffi's artful first novel chronicles the efforts of journalist Evie Jones to track down the man who murdered a friend of hers, 11-year-old Lianne Gagnon, in 1982. Robert Nelson Cameron was identified as a suspect but never caught. Jones researches the killer through old newspaper articles using the nascent Internet, aided by her cautiously flirtatious friend, David Patton. Since Lianne's death, Evie has suffered from some form of post-traumatic stress; the man she often sees at her apartment window could be real or the product of an overheated imagination. When Evie points out to her mother, Annie, that women read more true crime than men, Annie replies the reason is not entertainment but survival: "It's so we learn how to get away." Hooked readers will silently implore Evie to refrain from entering a basement or a cabin in the woods in pursuit of a story-and a killer. Agent: Samantha Haywood, Transatlantic Literary Agency (Canada). (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Having lived half her life in the aftermath of a friend's abduction and murder, twentysomething Evie Jones has learned to function in a constant state of paranoia-always looking over her shoulder and wondering if the things she sees are real or imagined. Working on a local newspaper during the crimes of real-life Canadian serial killer Paul Bernando, the young reporter finds herself covering the story and researching other unsolved cases. The assignment hits a little too close to home, and Evie's compulsive behavior soon spirals out of control, as she obsessively tries to piece together the circumstances surrounding her friend's murder. VERDICT The author (whose short story collection How To Get Along with Women was longlisted for the Giller Prize) expertly builds suspense throughout this character-driven debut novel. As it nears its climax, readers will dread turning the pages for fear of what comes next. Unfortunately, the promise of a spectacular conclusion isn't fully fulfilled, but loose ends are tied up and Evie receives answers to many of her questions. The use of dialog without quotation marks creates an intimacy to the storytelling, but the unconventional style may be bothersome for some readers. Give this one to patrons who can't get enough of creepy, psychological thrillers.-Vicki Briner, Westminster, CO (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview