Cover image for The devil you know : a novel
Title:
The devil you know : a novel
Author:
De Mariaffi, Elisabeth, 1973-
Edition:
First Touchstone hardcover edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Touchstone, 2015.
Physical Description:
308 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
"In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison's The Silent Wife, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter, whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger--and a stalker--right to her doorstep. The year is 1993. Rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne's case cold. Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help--but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large--and that he's coming back for her. From critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes a spine-tingling debut about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled"--
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781476779089
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Gripping!" --Margaret Atwood via Twitter (@MargaretAtwood)

In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison's The Silent Wife , The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter, whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger--and a stalker--right to her doorstep.

The year is 1993. Rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne's case cold.

Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help--but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large--and that he's coming back for her.

From critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes a spine-tingling debut about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Evie Jones is a young reporter in 1993 Toronto, doing more investigating than actual writing. Her latest assignment is for an ongoing story that Evie nicknames dead-girls weekend section. She gets bumped up from digging through basement archives for stories about long-dead girls to searching LexisNexis, which intensifies the hunt. Evie has never really recovered from her best friend's kidnapping and murder when they were 11 years old, and the suspect, Robert Cameron, was never caught. With the digital age upon her, Evie starts digging into her friend's case as she tries to deal with a growing suspicion that someone is stalking her. Paranoia is the main theme here (Is Evie imagining the stalker?) as the suspense slowly builds, reaching a frightening climax as Evie, who apparently has never seen a horror movie, goes off alone into the basement of a possible suspect's hunting cabin deep in the woods. A somewhat predictable but nevertheless engaging thriller from a promising first novelist.--Alesi, Stacy Copyright 2015 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

De Mariaffi's debut thriller, set in and around 1993 Toronto, begins as Evie Jones, a newbie reporter at the Free Press, decides to investigate the event that's traumatized her for the past decade: the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon, who was 11 years old at the time. Robert Nelson Cameron was identified as a suspect but wasn't caught. Reader Arndt's soft, youthful voice, a perfect match for Evie, catches each of the character's shifting moods-from her determination to uncover the facts of the murder, to self-doubt, to an almost unbelievable fearlessness in courting danger. Arndt makes no particular effort to alter her voice to fit the other characters, but she does manage to give them the proper emotions-such as Evie's sensible friend David, who isn't entirely happy with their platonic relationship, her comforting and understanding parents, and her hard-boiled editor. Arndt is also extremely effective in pacing the suspenseful sequences, particularly the final confrontation between Evie and the man she believes to be Lianne's killer. An S&S/Touchstone hardcover. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Evie Jones is a 21-year-old reporter in Toronto who is still traumatized by the unsolved abduction and murder of her best friend Lianne when they both were 11. She lives in constant fear that Lianne's killer may be stalking her, a fear that is compounded by the man she sees looking in her apartment window at night. Determined to discover who killed Lianne, Evie follows a trail that involves her friend David's father and even her mother's early life. De Mariaffi (How To Get Along with Women) sets this psychological thriller in 1993 and includes real cases of girls tortured and murdered by serial killer Paul Bernardo. While de Mariaffi succeeds in capturing the frightened mood of Toronto during the time the "Scarborough rapist" was at large, she prolongs her story with too many confusing twists and turns. Reader Audi Arndt portrays Evie's youthful obstinacy in a voice sounding like a rebellious teenager. VERDICT Despite these flaws, fans of thrillers and those familiar with Toronto and its suburbs should enjoy the book. ["De Mariaffi...expertly builds suspense throughout this...debut novel," read the review of the Touchstone hc, LJ 12/14.]-Nancy R. Ives, SUNY Geneseo © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.