Cover image for Wade and the scorpion's claw
Title:
Wade and the scorpion's claw
Author:
Abbott, Tony, 1952- , author.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
207 pages, 8 pages : illustrations ; 18 cm.
Summary:
"In this first in a series of ... [companion] novellas [to] the Copernicus legacy series, Wade travels to Hawaii and San Francisco in a race to find one of the twelve ancient relics"--
General Note:
Includes an excerpt from the next book in the Copernicus legacy series.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062314727

9780606359559
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Mass Market Paperback Childrens Area-Paperback
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Paperback
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Mass Market Paperback Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Paperback
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Paperback
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The quest for the relics continues. Travel deeper into the mysterious world of the Copernicus Legacy with the Copernicus Archives: exciting, fast-paced novellas that get you close to the characters and the heart of the adventure.

Wade and the Scorpion's Claw picks up right where The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone left off, with the Kaplan family seeking the next Copernicus relic. Now Wade, the curious, analytical, yet starry-eyed member of the group, leads the chase for another relic through the busy streets of San Francisco while on the run from one of Galina Krause's most treacherous henchmen.

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson, Wade and the Scorpion's Claw continues the thrilling Copernicus Legacy quest and brings one of the characters into the spotlight.

Supports the Common Core State Standards


Author Notes

Tony Abbott was born in Cleveland, Ohio on January 7, 1952. He attended the University of Connecticut, majoring first in music, then psychology, and finally English. He graduated with a bachelor's degree in English literature. After that, he traveled to Europe before returning home and finding work in a variety of bookstores, a library and at an Internet book and magazine publisher.

His first published book, Danger Guys, was written while taking a writing class with children's author, Patricia Reilly Giff. Since then, he's written over 75 books for children ages 6 to 12, including The Secrets of Droon series, The Haunting of Derek Stone series, and The Time Surfers series. Firegirl won the Golden Kite Award for Fiction in 2007 and The Postcard won the Edgar Award for the Best Juvenile Mystery novel in 2009.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 1

School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-6-Readers meet Wade Kaplan and his father, stepbrother Darrell, cousin Lily, and Lily's best friend, Becca in this multi-volume series opener. They are traveling on an airplane from Guam to Hawaii, and have become involved in a quest to find 12 relics that were collected by Nicolas Copernicus and could be used for time travel. Copernicus has separated the objects in order to prevent the evil Knights of the Teutonic Order from using the astrolabe (time travel machine) for their own purposes. To complicate matters, Sara Kaplan, Wade's stepmother and Darrell's mother, has been kidnapped. Now the family must find the relics, piece the puzzle together, ward off the evil Knights, and save Sara. Each character has a specific, though suspiciously convenient, strength that allows them to assist in the search. From Hawaii, where members of the Knights threaten, they fly to San Francisco where most of the story takes place. This is a good mystery/adventure book with just enough suspense; readers are never more "in the know" than the characters. Some clues are presented with puzzles, Chinese characters, or a rebus. The plot moves quickly, doesn't have too much blood and gore, and ends on an exciting note that will leave kids excited for the next installment.-Susan Lissim, Dwight School, New York City (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.