Cover image for George in the dark
Title:
George in the dark
Author:
Valentine, Madeline, author, illustrator.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2014]
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 27 cm
Summary:
A little boy overcomes his fear of the dark during a daring teddy bear rescue.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
AD 240 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 1.6 0.5 170424.
ISBN:
9780449813348

9780449813355
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Audubon Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
East Aurora Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Elma Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Grand Island Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenmore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Lake Shore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Newstead Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Orchard Park Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Central Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

For all kids who have ever dreaded the moment when the lights turn off and the bedroom door closes . . .
nbsp;
By day, George is a brave boy. He'll climb the tallest tree, leap over fences, and stand up for his friends, without fear. But when the sun goes down, it's only a matter of time before his parents say good night, leaving him in the dark.
nbsp;
In the dark, George's room fills with terrifying sights. The only thing to do is to hide under the covers with his bear. But wait! On this night, Bear is not in his bed. Where is it? It's across the room, in the darkest, scariest corner...
nbsp;
Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Jon Klassen's The Dark , this heartwarming tale gives extra reassurance to little ones who are bravely facing their own bedtime fears.


Author Notes

MADELINE VALENTINE grew up in Brooklyn, New York, and now lives in Queens, NY with her husband. She graduated from Pratt Institute and is the illustrator of Albertine's Got Talent! by Shena Power and Ava and the Real Lucille by Cari Best. She is also the author/illustrator of The Bad Birthday Idea , with Knopf.


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

During the day, George is the picture of bravery-he stands up to bullies and even eats worms-"But bedtime was a different story." Valentine (The Bad Birthday Idea) shows George being physically removed from his bedroom door by his "fed up" parents and deposited under the covers with a stern warning to stay put. After George realizes that only he can rescue his beloved Bear, who's stranded in the middle of the bedroom floor surrounded by all kinds of horror (in reality, the shadowy terrors are simply George's own toy collection), he finds new reserves of courage-in fact, he's "almost fearless." Rendering George and his red jammies in full color while his bedroom is depicted in turbulently textured, graphite chiaroscuro, Valentine strikes a delicate balance between assuring readers that George has nothing to fear while also showing just how deeply frightened he is. There's a palpable sense of relief mingled with victory in the final scene, as a now-confident George surveys his room and knows he's master of the house. Ages 3-7. Agent: Rebecca Sherman, Writers House. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Google Preview