Cover image for The bear ate your sandwich
Title:
The bear ate your sandwich
Author:
Sarcone-Roach, Julia, author, illustrator.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2015.
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 23 x 29 cm
Summary:
"When a sandwich goes missing, it seems that a bear is the unlikely culprit"--
Language:
English
Reading Level:
AD 490 Lexile.
ISBN:
9780375858604

9780375958601
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Central Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Central Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Central Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Central Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Audubon Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Audubon Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Audubon Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Clarence Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Clarence Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Clarence Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Clearfield Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Clearfield Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Clearfield Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Concord Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Concord Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Dudley Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Dudley Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
East Aurora Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
East Aurora Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
East Aurora Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Eden Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Eden Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Elma Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Elma Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Grand Island Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Grand Island Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Grand Island Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Hamburg Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Hamburg Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Hamburg Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenilworth Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Work Room
Searching...
Kenilworth Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenmore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenmore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenmore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Lancaster Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Lancaster Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Lancaster Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Marilla Free Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
North Collins Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
North Collins Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
North Park Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
North Park Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Orchard Park Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Orchard Park Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
West Seneca Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Newstead Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Newstead Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Alden Ewell Free Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Angola Public Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Boston Free Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Collins Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Crane Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
East Clinton Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
East Delavan Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Eggertsville-Snyder Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Lackawanna Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Lake Shore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Frank E. Merriweather Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Niagara Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Anna M. Reinstein Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Riverside Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
City of Tonawanda Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Williamsville Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Bookmobile Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Bookmobile
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.
 
By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich.
But you may not know how it happened.
So let me tell you.
It all started with the bear . . .
 
So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach's delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear's journey from forest to city and back home again is full of happy accidents, funny encounters, and sensory delights. The story is so engrossing, it's not until the very end that we begin to suspect this is a TALL tale.
 
The wonderfully told story, spectacular illustrations, and surprise ending make this Julia Sarcone-Roach's best book to date. You'll want to share it with your friends (and keep a close eye on your lunch).

Praise for The Bear Ate Your Sandwich:

***Winner of an Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Honor Award!***

"This story is mischief-making at its finest. And just like a good sandwich, it's hard to resist." -  Book Page

"Charming" -- The Wall Street Journal

"While the bear storyline is entertaining in itself, the ending twist will equally delight kids who love to spot untruths, and a second reading for hints as to the narrator's credibility may well be in order." --  The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, S tarred review


Author Notes

After attending the Rhode Island School of Design, JULIA SARCONE-ROACH made her Knopf picture-book debut with The Secret Plan, and followed it up with the highly praised Subway Story. She is also the creator of animated videos, including Call of the Wild, which was featured in indie film festivals and won several prizes. Julia lives in Brooklyn, NY. You can find her on the Web at jsarconeroach.com.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich, begins the very unreliable narrator in this amusing picture book. His story? A woodland bear fell asleep in the back of a truck and awoke to find himself in the city. Searching for food, he made his way to the park, where he spied that beautiful and delicious sandwich. All alone. After devouring it, he noticed dogs watching him and quickly fled, leaping into a passing boat and eventually making his way home. The book's last pages reveal a dog telling the tale to a little girl. She may or may not see the holes in his story, but many young listeners will enjoy solving the mystery and pointing out the thief. The text is cleverly written, but much of the story unfolds wordlessly in the soft-focus watercolor-and-pencil illustrations, which glow with light and color. The city scenes reward attention with intriguing, sometimes comical details. This is a picture book that kids will want to hear again immediately, once they know who is telling the story.--Phelan, Carolyn Copyright 2015 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

"By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich," begins the unseen narrator of Sarcone-Roach's (Subway Story) sly tale. "But you may not know how it happened.... It all started with the bear." The narrator spins a long, involved story about how a bear found its way to the city (and the sandwich), while warm, painterly acrylics show what's really going on. The bear finds himself a stowaway on a berry truck that passes "high cliffs" (readers see tall buildings) and arrives in "a new forest" (a lively city street). He makes the city his own, shinnying up fire escapes and riffling ruinously through the papers outside a newsstand, then arrives in the park: "There it was. Your beautiful and delicious sandwich. All alone." The bear gobbles it down and returns to bear country by boat. Or so the storyteller says-he's revealed to be the young sandwich owner's dog, and he might not be entirely trustworthy. The fabricated story and accompanying artwork stand nicely on their own, while the narrative frame delivers an extra comic kick in the pants. Ages 3-7. Agent: Paul Rodeen, Rodeeen Literary Management. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 2-"It all started with the bear," begins this story of what happened to a sandwich. Bear wakes up to the delectable aroma of freshly picked berries. He sniffs out a red truck, the back of which is filled with boxes of perfectly harvested berries. After having a berry party, Bear falls asleep. The truck drives him to a new forest-the city. When Bear begins to explore, he sees things in the city framed by his own experiences: a telephone pole becomes a tree, and bricks on the side of a building make great bark for scratching. In a park, he finds a lunchbox with a delicious sandwich, which he eats ravenously. When he climbs a tree, he can see his forest home in the distance and desperately wants to return. Somehow, he finds a boat, which carries him to the familiar sights and sounds of home. "So that's what happened to [the] sandwich." This is a fun story that children will enjoy, though they'll need to suspend logic a bit. The illustrations in this book are terrific: color-drenched and bold slashes that cover the pages. The funny Bear is sympathetic and is only doing what bears do-eating and sleeping. And making us laugh. This book is a fine addition to any collection.-Mary Hazelton, formerly at Warren & Waldoboro Elementary Schools, ME (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview